close

All reviews for Smash and Grab Gift Card

Back to Smash and Grab Gift Card
Sort by:
    Julie
    Jan 11th 2016
    Smash it - but not too hard...

    I got this for my son for Christmas. He was confused, but decided since it said to smash it, he would. He smashed it, and the gift card inside broke! Great concept though.

    Christine
    Dec 27th 2015
    Smash and Grab

    I loved the idea of this. I have purchased several of the crates before but was looking for something a bit different for my sister in law and my son in law. This was perfect. The one problem that was encountered with both of the boxes was that both of the gift cards broke inside the cement while being *smashed*. Luckily, these are resourceful people with scotch tape on hand at all times and they were able to redeem the codes on the available site. Keep up the awesome work and I shall be back frequently to check for gifts for future occasions. Yes, I gave a Smash and Grab to my sister in law... SHE LOVED IT !!

    Hanna
    Dec 16th 2015
    Looks fun, but overpriced...

    This gift looks super fun and I can't wait for my bf to open it, but I feel this is overpriced. You can totally tell someone peeled a huge sticker off the hammer and now it's sticky and gross with the residue. For paying almost $90 (including shipping) for a $50-60 gift card, the stuff better be pristine.

    Christina
    Jun 24th 2020
    Unique

    I googled different gifts for fathers day and this idea popped up. I always feel like i get my dad the same stuff so when i saw this i thought it would be a great idea. My dad loved it because the card doesnt say its a gift card on it and he had to enter a code to figure out what it was. Once he figured out what it was he thought he was a grand prize winner. The only reason why i gave it 3 stars instead of 5 is because when my dad went to redeem the gift card and pick the one he wanted it was out of stock. My dad doesnt shop at alot of those stores but he loves amazon. If he isnt able to use the gift card on amazon then the gift card will be useless. I purchased the 100 dollar gift card and if my dad isnt able to redeem it for the company he wants im going to be extremely mad and will expect a refund for the gift card value.

    Donna
    Nov 30th 2019
    Eh

    It was pretty easy for him to get through. Wasn't nearly as fun as I thought it would be.

    Elizabeth Yielding
    Aug 6th 2019
    Great idea but all of the stores are sold out!

    Every time my husband gets online to use his card the stores are all sold out of e gift cards which is weird to me. Like how do u sell out of gift cards:-/ I mean he could use amazon but he shops them all the time only other two available were outdoor clothing stores which he does not hunt or fish so he’s not sure what to buy! How long do these stores usually take to get more e gift cards Ppl have already paid for?

    Amanda
    Dec 28th 2018
    Loved the concept

    I got this as a gift for my father. He thought it was the most interesting way to get a gift. He had so much fun opening it. I'm giving it only 3 stars, because the actual gift card doesn't seem to work. Once you follow the instructions and get to the redeem page, that's as far as you go. He was unable to actually use the card as the page is blank. I'm hoping its just because of a technical error. I feel bad as now he has call costumer support to use a gift. Finger's crossed he's able to use it.

    Man Crates Response: Amanda,

    Thanks for your feedback and we're so sorry for the trouble. We had a huge rush on Smash and Grab redemptions over the days following the hoilday and are working our fastest to get them back. We tried to get as many as possible in advance of the big day, unfortunately we did not anticipate how popular our retailers would be and are working with them to get them restored as quickly as we can. We actually have all of our selections restored as of today (December 31st, 2018) and you should be able to find the retailer you'd like to redeem for. Please give us a call at 866-902-7260 if there's anything else we can do to help make this right.

    -Team Man Crates

    Laura
    Dec 31st 2017
    Kind of a waste of resources

    My husband received this as a gift. He had no interest in breaking the block open and the stores that were offered for the gift card left a lot to be desired. I appreciate the attempt at making a gift card exciting, but it was wasted on him.

    Patty
    Dec 25th 2018
    Smash Box

    Disappointed that it only took one hit with the enclosed hammer and the concrete block was in pieces. I was looking forward to my husband trying to get the box cracked and having done fun with it.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there Patty,

    Sorry to hear you were dissapointed, we do our best to make sure that most guys have a heck of a time getting into that brick and it sounds like your he-man was luckier than others. Give us a buzz at 866-902-7260 and we'll work with you to make this right!

    -Team Man Crates

    JudithCarroll
    Dec 22nd 2018
    So Disappointed

    I was so disappointed when this gift arrived. I thought they all came in the crates. This one's in a cardboard box! You seriously need to revise your advertising!

    Man Crates Response: Hey there,

    Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your order! While we love sealing up great gifts inside wooden crates, we understand that not every recipient appreciates the sweat and struggle that can go into liberating them. That’s why we’ve added a variety of items to our spread that ship out in other ways. Your gift could arrive in one of a few forms depending which item(s) you order, and if you’d like that gift wrapped in our Diabolical Duct Tape Cocoon.

    If you’re in the market for our namesake crates, keep an eye out for anything on our site that has “Crate” in the title. We’ve included a photo on each Product Description Page as well as just inside your Shopping Cart, letting you know this item is a crated one, and that it comes with one of our Man Crates crowbars.

    We do our best to let you know how the item is shipping by showing a photo on the product’s page and in your cart of how the item ships. We also let you know how the item its packaged in the product description itself.

    That being said, we're happy to work with you to make this right or to offer you arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

    Amanda
    Jan 14th 2018
    Just okay

    I bought this for my husband and I was really excited for him to open it. I had it duct taped to make it even harder to open. Waste of money. He had it open in 10 seconds and then busted it out of the concrete in about the same amount of time. The stores were not great for him to shop at either. That was partially my fault for not reading. I expected him to be able to use the gift card on the Man Crates website or the other websites listed and that's not the case. I was really disappointed. That being said the hammer was pretty nice and he seemed to like it...

    Deborah George
    Sep 11th 2019
    Be aware!

    I ordered the Smash and Grab gift for my adult son and was excited for such a fun way of opening a gift plus 10 choices of an e-gift card. The problem came when my son, upon trying to actually redeem the gift card, found that 5 of the 10 vendors were “not available at this time”. I have planned to purchase more of this same gift for other men in my family but will have to rethink this decision. My son will be able to redeem the gift card at REI, but this is not his first choice. I am not happy!

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback. We're working hard to get all of our options back in stock ASAP. We'd hate for you to be stuck with a gift card you can't redeem and would be happy to work with you to make sure you're completely happy, even if that means issuing a complete refund. Give us a buzz at 866-902-7260, and thanks in advance for letting us help turn this around!

    -Team Man Crates

    Bert
    Jul 10th 2019
    Subject to availability

    Received this as a fathers day gift. However, ManCrates was temporarily out of stock of the card I wanted. I called and they said it would be a few days. So I waited, called back and was told not sure but should be in a week. Now more cards are out of stock. Don't waste your money on this gift. They list all these brands, but when it comes time to redeem, only the ones that no one wants are available. When you call, they just lie to you to drag it out, until you take the trash at the bottom. Great for them, crappy for the customer.

    Man Crates Response: Hi there Bert,

    Thanks for your feedback and we apologize for the experience you're having. We are out of stock on a few of our redemption options temporarily due to many redemptions that happened right after the Father's Day season. We're working as hard as we can to get our inventory on redemptions restocked. Thanks for your patience! We're happy to offer alternative solutions if you are unable to wait for the retailer you'd like to be restocked. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'd be happy to help.

    -Team Man Crates

    Dan Ratka
    Jun 17th 2019
    one wrist hit, and "sold out" gift cards

    Got this for my Dad for fathers day. He cracked the brick in half with one small wrist flick. It was a little disappointing, but also kind of funny, so not the worst part. Apparently it refused to acknowledge the he wasn't a robot when trying to log in to redeem the card. He isn't computer illiterate, the website just wasn't loading properly for about 15 minutes. It just kicked in and started working after a bit. The worst thing, by far, was when he went to redeem the gift card. Amazon, Best Buy, Chefs Cut, Extreme Experience, as well as others he didn't care for were "sold out"! How do you sell out of digital gift cards? I checked, and I can buy online gift cards from both Best Buy and Amazon on their site right now (surprise!). So he's going to hold off for a week, hoping some of the good options are re-stocked. All around, a pretty disappointing gift, and utterly useless if you can't actually buy anything you want with it,

    Man Crates Response: I'm sorry to say that we are out of stock on some retailers for redemptions at certain levels. We had a huge rush over Father's Day and a few gift cards options were so popular that they're currently out of stock. We're in the process of restocking those options now, and should be completely back in stock by the end of this week. We appreciate your patience while we get our retailers reloaded. Please feel free to give us a call at 866-902-7260 if there's anything we can do for you to help make this right in the meantime. Thanks again.

    -Team Man Crates

    Erin Johnson
    Mar 31st 2019
    Sold Out

    Purchased this for my husband for Valentines Day. We were originally super happy with the purchase, until he went to redeem his card online. Everything was sold out. We called customer service they said try back in a few days. We tried again a few days later. Still sold out. We have tried to redeem them online on 5 separate occasions. It’s now April and he’s still unable to redeem them.

    Man Crates Response: Hi Erin,

    I'm sorry to say that we are out of stock on some retailers for redemptions at certain levels. We did temporarily run into a situation where we had a few gift cards options out of stock. We're currently in the process of restocking those gift cards, and should be completely back in stock by the end of this week. We appreciate your patience while we get our retailers reloaded. Please feel free to give us a call at 866-902-7260 if there's anything we can do for you to help make this right in the meantime. Thanks again.

    -Team Man Crates

    Brad Smith
    Dec 6th 2017
    This is just dumb.

    I got this as a birthday present. You hit a rock 3 times with a little hammer for a $50 gift card inside. So basically you're paying $24.99 for a little hammer you'll never use again and cheap plastic glasses. Just give me the $75 in cash and I'll skip the "experience" of opening this "fun" gift.

Back to Top