close

All reviews for Knife Making Kit

Back to Knife Making Kit
Sort by:
    Rebecca
    Dec 22nd 2017
    Nice kit but no crate

    I live what comes in the kit and I think my dad with love it but for the price and the fun it came in a crate. I was expecting it to come in a crate when I bought it but after receiving it it was just in a box. It’s misleading to me to have a product ona site that sells gift sets in crates and not have them all in a crate. Maybe have a more clear picture or label at the top saying non crate gifts

    Dave
    Nov 8th 2017
    Great Kit overall minus the box.

    Bought this as a gift. Have purchased many mancrates. The box it comes in is pretty disappointing as opening a mancrate is half the fun. Box comes with shipping labels and post office notes written all over it. Kind of takes away from the experience. Other than that ... AWESOME!

    Rob
    Mar 27th 2017
    Man's best friend

    Fun to put together, if tedious with hand tools. I have a tip for those that find the sheath too loose. After wetting the leather, put the top half of the long edge without stitching in the vise and clamp tightly for an hour. Then, carefully align and put the bottom half in the vise. You will end up with a tight fit that holds the blade well and a crosshatch line that looks like you tooled the leather. Finish with neatsfoot oil or another leather conditioner after it dries completely.

    David Campbell
    Feb 22nd 2017
    Knife Kit Honest Feedback

    My wife bought me this kit for our anniversary because I have mentioned wanting to get into knife making (or at least try it) before. This kit was by far the best gift she has gotten me. Here are my thoughts on what I liked and what could be improved upon... The kit does come with everything you need to make your own knife. I literally do not own any of the tools needed so this by itself is great. However, the top part of the bench vise started to become loose within less than an hour of use. This made the project more difficult. I also think more in-depth instructions or a tutorial video could be helpful for people who do not have any experience using epoxy, rasps/files, etc... I wanted my knife to have a darker handle similar to what was pictured but it ended up being a lot lighter. One more sheet of the roughest sand paper would've been nice too. Ultimately, I loved making my knife and receiving this kit as a gift from my wife. I am just providing this honest feedback in hopes that it will improve the knife kit receiver experience.

    Tom O'Keefe
    Jun 29th 2016
    A Good All-In-One Kit

    My wife gave me this for Father's Day, and, no, im not her father. She just likes to have an occasion to give me nice things that she knows that I'll like.

    The kit has everything needed to build a first-quality knife. The only not-included thing I needed was a drill motor, and I opted to use a sanding block to finish the handle.

    Although I have a bench vise, the included one was useful, and good quality. I could leave my existing vice in place on the other side of the workbench and mount the included one, that has a bench clamp, in a convenient place. The included files are good quality (Great Neck), and two of them wasn't in my current inventory.

    In addition to various grades of sandpaper, the wood rasp is most helpful in quickly removing the excess handle stock.

    The instructions are succinct, and humorous. I liked the "Whia, cowboy!", when the blade sizing step was presented. You need to have some basic knowledge of the use of basic tools, but not too much. I thought the instructions about the bolsters made the work seem overly difficult, but it really wasn't. Or, I didn't do all that was described, but I'm happy with the result.

    One suggestion is that the knife-builder employ all the patience that can be had, when shaping the handle material. Allow plenty of time for the shaping, there's a lot of material to remove, and, to do it right, the tang and wood need to bee perfectly flush. I ran out of the medium grit sandpaper while bringing the wood to the tang. The kit could have included one more sheet.

    Nathan
    Jun 4th 2016
    Pretty Awesome Gift...

    Was very excited that from the time of order to the arrival of this project kit from Man Crates, was in a blink of an eye. Pleasant surprise because I'd been waiting for this to return back into stock for about 2 months. Woohoo!
    I ordered 3, one for my father, one for the father in-law and of course one for myself. Booya!
    As someone that uses hand tools on a daily basis, I was a little shocked to find that when my kit arrived the tools that were shown on-line and again displayed in the literature included was that the hand tools (and vise) were that of GreatNeck and NOT the MIT-Tekton tools being advertised (visually). :( This would of typically warranted an auto 3 star rating, but the kit is seriously awesome and fun, so a solid 4.
    It must also be noted that the wood handles are not Burl Maple, but is actually Curly Maple for those who know the difference. Regardless, the kit is complete and will warrant several additional knives once the original blade has been finished. Highly recommended.

    Arne
    Dec 9th 2020
    It's just ok.

    Recieved as a gift. It is a fun craft, but isn't really a "knife making" kit. The blade is fully shaped and sharpened, you just assemble the handle. If are looking for an all inclusive kit, it does have all the basics to put together a nice looking knife, but otherwise is overpriced. A comparable kit could be pieced together for maybe a third or half the price.

    Teresa
    Nov 25th 2020
    It’s ok

    I purchased the knife making kit for my son-in-law for Christmas. I had read that it came in a fancy card board box. Well it was not! The mailing address label was stuck on the box. The box was the mailing box, so it was scuffed up. Things were tossed around inside. It would be a much nicer gift it it was sent in a small crate, not a normal mailing box. Especially for the cost of it!

    Kathy Boren
    Feb 22nd 2019
    Knife making kit

    The vice that came in our kit doesn't work properly. It doesn't stay tight and falls over. It frustrates my husband not being able to hold the knife in place to file.

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,

    So sorry to hear about the trouble with your order! Please give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we’ll do our best to make it right, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

    Stan Lewandowski
    Mar 21st 2018
    Almost great

    I hope you hired a new machinist!! In my kit, the pins did NOT fit the bolsters or line up with the "tang"!! It is good to have a complete drill index and a drill press to clean up the misfits. It seems like a nice project for about 60 hrs. the almost great review is because of the misfits and the crappy cardboard box you ship in.

    Zach M.
    Feb 16th 2018
    Not "knife making"

    This isn't a knife making kit, it's simply a knife handle making kit. The blade comes already shaped and sharpened. Just not as cool.

    DJ
    Dec 29th 2019
    So-So knife kit.

    Holes don’t line up and the vice Doesn’t hold the parts firmly enough. In fact the vice doesn’t match the vice in the photo, hum?

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,

    Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the Knife Making kit you received.

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right even if it means offering a discount or to arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

    T. Evans
    Jan 21st 2018
    Didn't make the cut

    I received this kit as a Christmas gift from my girlfriend. I was excited to get started...but while I was shaping the handle scales one of the screws loosened up and fell out. As a result of the screw falling out now both handles scales are loose. Bummed!!!

    Jennifer
    Apr 21st 2021
    I'd give it zero stars if I could

    Can't really tell you if it's awesome or not bc we can't use it! Man Crates totally failed. Ordered this for Valentines Day. It's now April 21st....still waiting on a pin that was not included in our kit and is a critical part. The company is generally quick to reply but the reply is basically they can't do anything, the piece is out of stock, a sub contractor sends missing parts not the primary company...how about after a month you open up a full kit, remove the part the customer needs and send it versus losing a customer for life...that's what most companies would do....this is maddening and I have husband who thinks I dropped the ball on his valentines gift.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there, thank you for your feedback! Apologies that you were disappointed in the Knife Making Kit you received! We do our best to offer a great experience and value for the price and we're sorry to hear we missed that mark for you. We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'd be happy to work with you to make this right.

    -Team Man Crates

    Richard
    Dec 25th 2019
    Please don't but this for anyone

    Okay 150 dollars for this, for a 4 dollar blade thats stamped 540 stainless steel blade that's held in place by epoxy.
    Just buy the person a quality entry level knife like a Benchmade knife for this kind of money. This was gifted for me and it feels like a complete joke that this exists and their profit margins for this must be 1500% for the shitty materials they use. I'm not going to tell the person who got me this all of this but omg don't but this for anyone you love, like or kinda like.
    Don't even know what to do with this crap that's now in my possession

Back to Top