Free Shipping on all orders over $50.00!
close

All reviews for Knife Making Kit

Back to Knife Making Kit
Sort by:
    Cori
    Dec 18th 2017
    Great kit

    Kit is awesome..should come in a crate and not a cardboard box.

    Donna Sims
    Dec 11th 2017
    The Crate

    I'm wanting to order this for my husband but I want it to come in wooden crate please.. That's the whole purpose

    Bryant Sims
    Oct 20th 2017
    Amazing gift

    My wife bought me this for Christmas and she thought I would like it a much she gave to me in October.

    I spent 2 weeks with an Hr or so a day babying this knife and grinding like a stripper when the rent is due.

    I got the handle to feel like a worn bar of soap and the only sharp edges on it are now the blade.

    Thaw was amazing. Yea the hand tools were kind of tedious but I believe if you can't do it with the hand tool you don't understand the process and should not move onto the power tools. I will be making more and more knives now using thaw tools and techniques and I will add the power tools as I go.

    The hand rasping and filing also pits your sweat and blood into the knife and is soothing and I find it therapeutic. Those complaining about the hand tools don't have the patience to make this perfect.

    I love this and the skill I just learned.

    KRuss
    Oct 17th 2017
    Husband loved it

    Man Crates have saved me on numerous occasions for presents for the men in my life! I've gotten my husband several and the knife making kits I've gotten him have been huge hits! Keeps him occupied for a few weeks after!

    Joe R.
    Feb 18th 2017
    Great kit and great knife

    My wife found your website and showed me a couple of ideas she picked to get my father for his birthday/ Christmas present. He used to sharpen knives when he was younger so I said get him this kit. I also said hey I would not mind one as well. She said she already bought me my Christmas gift. So I said keep it in mind for some other gift giving holiday. Well she ended up getting me one as well. Only problem was she mixed up the delivery dates. My dad got his early and I got mine late. I had a lot of fun crafting my handle and sheath. I posted a picture of the final piece on your facebook page. The tools included drill bit minus the drill, bolster, files, pins, vise, and sandpaper are all great and I'm even useing the tools to make a different brand of knife kit. One thing that would have been nice to include in the instructions that I recently learned about would have been to talk about the option on how to press your bolster pins to make the two pins seamless to the bolster. A video tutorial or a link to a trusted YouTuber who has done this kit would also make a great addition to your instructions.

    Alicia G.
    Feb 6th 2017
    Score for me!

    My husband is so hard to buy for. I bought this for him for Christmas as he loves collecting guns and knives. (If you ever have a "make your own gun kit" I am in). I was so excited to find this item and this company. He LOVED it to say the least and spent Christmas night making his knife. He even made his own sheath. The product is solid, it was sharp (very sharp), and materials were all made well. Thank you for this awesome product.

    Gloria
    Feb 2nd 2017
    He loved it!!!

    I have never written a review for a product that I've purchased before, but I had to make an exception this time. I ordered the knife making kit for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it!! Not only was ordering the kit easy for me, but everything from the presentation of the product down to the instructional booklet were GREAT!! Everything needed to make the knife is included and what better gift to get him than something that he can make with his own hands and have for years to come. The first thing my boyfriend said was I can't wait to make this knife it's something that I can pass down to Alex (his son) when he gets old enough!!! That in itself was an added bonus that hadn't occurred to me. The kit is worth every penny!! Thank you so much Man Crates!!! You have def earned yourself a return customer and I will be recommending you to all of my friends!!!

    Steven Froehlich
    Jan 29th 2017
    Best xmas present EVER!

    First of all, I want to say that Mancrates.com is f@cking awesome! Ok, now for the review. This was my second man crate, the first one being the exotic jerky crate (Father's Day). I got this one as a Christmas present. I was both excited and nervous. I was thinking how cool it would be to do a project like this, but I didn't want to screw it up. So I put on my big boy pants and dove right in. I couldn't be happier with how it turned out. This may have sparked an interest in a new hobby. Thanks again Mancrates!

    John Medeiros
    Jan 12th 2017
    Wicked Awesome Stuff

    My wife gave me this fantastic Knife Making Kit for Christmas. All the components are high quality, and the Instruction Guide is comprehensive and easy to understand. Just be sure to READ It prior to crafting this fine instrument. I did not, and obliterated a few components. The folks at Man Crates
    (Amer J., Customer Champion) were understanding and surely amused, but nevertheless; ensured the
    customer-damaged replacement parts were sent out promptly. Outstanding products and customer support equals a return customer.

    Jacquie T
    Jan 11th 2017
    WAY AWESOME

    Those are the words my son used to describe how he felt about this as his Christmas gift! I am so pleased! I think a site aimed at men for men is a wonderful way for us ladies to buy for the men in our life without, as you say, the 'fluff'...Thank You Man Crates for making shopping easier for us!!

    Knottme
    Dec 27th 2016
    SUPER AWESOME

    I had doubts . . . 5 star reviews on everything? No way. Well. YES way. The box impressed him. The card, the way it was packaged, the kit, it all impressed him. Best gift I ever bought him! Where have you been all my life?

    Steph Ryder
    Nov 17th 2016
    Perfect gift

    I bought this kit for my boyfriend for his 30th birthday. We're both huge fans of the tv show "Forged in Fire" and he loves talking about knives. The kit was a huge SUCCESS and he started making his knife immediately. All in all it probably took him about 5 days to make, working 1-1.5 hours per night.

    Denise Willet
    Sep 29th 2016
    25th Wedding Anniversary

    I bought this for my husband for our 25th Wedding anniversary. Finding something "silver" for a man just isn't that easy so I thought it's the right color! My husband said it's the best gift EVER! Our 23 yr old son said the same thing and is now asking for one for Christmas. I wanted him to have something that he could remember our big day and pass it down to our son later so this was perfect. LOVE all the tools it comes with and can't wait do order more at Christmas time. This isn't my first, I ordered him the Red Heart box of Jerky for his birthday last month! Thank you MAN CRATES! You are now all over Facebook with pictures we posted!

    Canadian girl
    Sep 24th 2016
    He loved it

    I bought this for my favorite coworker's birthday and he said it's the coolest gift he's ever received. Thanks Man Crates!!!!!
    Just wish I could have got it in an ammo container!

    John Mahon
    Aug 19th 2016
    You call that a knife? That's not a knife! THIS IS A KNIFE!!

    I have just created something to be proud of! It looks great! Feels great... It IS great because I created it! The tools that come with the knife kit are all you need,...that and some patience. I bought three kits, one for each of my sons and one for me the minute they got them they immediately called me to say it's the coolest gift ever....I agree! I was the first to finish, I'm looking forward to see how theirs come out and all of us sitting around eating meat, and doing manly stuff. I'm going to get another and hang it in the other side of my hip, how cool is that!!!

    Calli Elliott
    Apr 11th 2016
    Amazing Gift

    Purchased this item for my husbands birthday. Paid the extra to have the duck tape wrapping which is an inside joke for us. Needless to say it was packaged properly and everything was included. Took us a while to find the wood stain as it is a tiny package but all in all it is well worth the money. I like the fact that he now carries around a knife that he made personally and he wears it with pride daily. Great gift!

    Alexandra
    Mar 2nd 2016
    Won Best GF Award

    Surprised my boyfriend with this kit just because! As soon as he opened it he wanted to start on the project! He completed the whole thing in about 9 hours! He said it was actually really fun and cool to make the knife by himself! He's very proud of the knife and it turned out awesome!

    Jackson Platsky
    Feb 13th 2016
    Couldnt be happier!!!!

    I gave my girlfriend an engagement ring for an early Valentines Day gift, and she reciprocated with this kit. Clearly I won out on this trade, not to mention chose wisely. I have had it now for 18 hours and am getting ready to stain my handle. I couldn't feel prouder to have crafted this knife with my own hands. Cant wait for my next project!!! My only request would be that ManCrates offer a re-up kit with another blade, handle and bolster kit, or at least offer a link where I could purchase them to start on my second knife.

    Erin
    Feb 8th 2016
    Hard to shop for Husband Win

    My husband has always wanted to make his own knife, this was the perfect kit to get him started, he did an amazing job on it and even branded our last name into the handle, it's a knife that I feel will become a family keepsake, pass it down to our son and so on. All our kids watched the process and thought it was so cool to see dad make this from scratch. My husband is usually quite hard to shop for, but every Christmas and every birthday I get him a man crate, we are Canadian and even with the exchange and shipping it's worth it to give him a unique gift that he really enjoys!!!

    Mary
    Jan 5th 2016
    Finished in less than 3 Days!

    I gave this to my dad for Christmas and he LOVED it. He wanted to start working on it immediately. He obsessively worked on it until he finished in less than three days. My dad had always wanted to get into knife making but did not know where to start and this kit was perfect for him! The tools in the kit are a good quality that will help him in future projects. It was his favorite gift this year.

    Kelly
    Dec 29th 2015
    Gave it to my SO as a Christmas gift

    This kit kept going out of stock, so I immediately jumped on the chance when it (shortly) became available. I gave this to my boyfriend as a Christmas gift, and he LOVED it. It's been less than a week, and he's already almost finished with it. Consider buying this if you or your giftee likes unique, interactive presents.

    ben.helen@cox.net
    Dec 27th 2015
    happy dad

    my daughter & SIL sent me this for Christmas. i've never written a review before. it's been great since tearing open the massively duct taped box. it's been three days and i look forward to working on it every day; a glass of wine, a nice cigar, some filing and epoxying. going on a roadtrip soon and will be sanding by the campfires. my camping pals are going to be awed!

    Whitney
    Oct 15th 2020
    This particular gift doesn't come in crate.

    I'm a little disappointed the Knife Making kit didn't come in a crate :( That's partly why I ordered the gift in the first place haha but you just need to pay attention on which gifts actually come in the crate. Other than that, I think my husband will still like present.

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,
    We are so sorry to hear you are disappointed that your order did not come in a crate. We do have a few items that we sell which do not come in crates. The crates are our the base of our brand and excellent gifts. However, we choose not to limit such glorious gift-giving to just wooden boxes. We offer other legendary gifts such as our: fresh-from-the-front-lines Ammo Cans, or our insanely-delicious JerkyGrams, and most recently our line of (If-You Want-Something-Done-Right-You-Have-To-) DIY project kits.

    We do try our best to make it clear that certain items do not come in crates. Repeatedly on the site we make mention of this, specifically under the "add to cart" button we have written "This product ships in a box (NOT A CRATE) " as well as including a picture of how the item ships. In the product description we also have listed "Delivered: In an awesome cardboard box (NOT A CRATE)" shown on the page. On the cart page before you process your order we have also included this message and another picture of how the items ships as well. Sorry if you missed any or all of these signals, we've done our best to try and give you a heads up!


    I'm sorry for any confusion resulting from the purchase that was thought to be coming in a crate. As always, we have a very generous return policy and if you wish you can return the item for a complete refund for any reason.

    The bottom line is, we're not happy until you're happy, please let me know if there's anything I can do to turn this around! Also, please let me know if you would like to start up a return or if there is anything else I can help with. Feel free to give me a call at 866-902-7260 or drop us a line at guys@mancrates.com. Have a good one!

    -Team Man Crates

    Rex Forester
    Feb 3rd 2018
    Good fun. Nice knife.

    Very, very nice idea. Received one for Christmas. As a fairly experienced woodworker, with plenty of available tools to hand, I was not inclined to use just the files included in the Crate and found a coping saw and Dremel very effective in roughing the wood to size.

    I am very pleased with the result and still have to shape the sheath. The vise is nicely made, but the one hex screw that I really needed to tighten was inaccessible; this resulted in the vise being too wobbly for comfort.

    Two or three layers of masking tape on the blade is essential during construction...

    Altogether a very nice project

    Mrs. Hess
    Dec 25th 2017
    Kit is Great but 2 suggestions

    I bought this knife making kit for my husband for Christmas. He loves it but 2 suggestions (why I did 4 out of 5. The actual kit is 5 out of 5) - first don't waste your money on the duct tape bc they ship it that way & the flimsy cardboard box got wet when delivered so I had to transfer kit into another box. And 1 layer of duct tape just isn't worth $10. I could have bought 3 or 4 rolls of duct tape & coated the box in layers myself for that cost. 2nd please start doing all of these in the crates versus flimsy cardboard. One of the most fun things about man crates is getting the crate & opening it. As stated the kit is totally 5 stars only picked 4 bc of the 2 suggestions I made. I will be back for more gifts!!!

Back to Top