close

All reviews for Super Retro Gamer Crate

Back to Super Retro Gamer Crate
Sort by:
    Tyler Bowman
    Mar 19th 2015
    Awesome Gift!

    First of all, this is a great idea for a gamer like my brother! Great product and gift. Mancrates has great customer service. Definitely will order again!

    Jenna
    Feb 20th 2015
    Superb product and service!

    I ordered the Super Retro Gamer for my boyfriend for his birthday and he absolutely loved it!! He saw the "man crate" label, but was so shocked to see the actual crate inside with the crowbar! He's a big gamer, and was so excited that he has a portable system that plays nes and snes games (with the option to play it on the TV). The games that came with it were sports games, but I ordered others on ebay for him so he had games to play.
    We had an issue with the system's screen, but I emailed the guys at Man Crate, and they responded so quickly and helped fix the issue immediately. They were so helpful and had such a positive attitude! 5 star service :)

    Jessie G
    Feb 17th 2015
    He loved it!!!

    This was a Valentine's gift for my husband and HE LOVED IT. I got the Retro Gamer Crate and it was something he never expected and was really excited to open the crate.

    If this was an option I didn't see it, but it would have been great to be able to pick what candy/snacks go into the crate. We try to eat healthy and would have been great to be able to add jerky and nuts instead of the candy it had in it. However, my husband's co-workers enjoyed that he gave all his candy away to them

    Kate
    Feb 16th 2015
    I'm now officially the best wife ever!!!

    I bought this man crate for my husband for Valentines Day. He loves the old school games and hooks up his old Nintendo game system from time to time for a good old game of Techmo Super Bowl and others. When I saw this one included the handheld portable system, I knew it was the PERFECT choice! He loves the crate and crowbar but even loved the contents inside better! Luckily, to my advantage, he still was able to spend lots of time with me on Valentines day (instead of his new game system) because it takes 18 hrs to charge it!!! YAY! Ha! He is thrilled and mentioned numerous times what geniuses you guys are and how awesome of a gift! Thanks man crates for giving us women a great gift idea for the main man in our lives!

    Ashley
    Feb 9th 2015
    AWESOME!!

    I got this gift for my husband for valentines day! I ordered if on a Monday and was here Wednesday at noon was very impressed! (I'm in canada)
    I just couldn't wait to give it too him so he got it early! When he first seen the box he was puzzled, and even more when he seen the box with crow bar! When he opened it he was smiling and saying awesome, this is so neat etc! You couldn't wipe the smile off his face no matter how hard you tried!
    After getting the system and allowing it to charge, we were having issues (thought it was the system) and I call them and they were so nice and helpful!
    Awesome product and team that runs the store!! Can't wait to order the poker set for his birthday!!

    Order away I promise you will not be disappointed

    Mindi
    Dec 26th 2014
    Best Present of Christmas

    I'm not sure if he had more fun opening it or playing with it! My husband loved the crate and will be buying crates for his brother and Dad.

    Colleen
    Dec 22nd 2014
    amazing!

    watching my boyfriend open it was almost as fun as seeing his face when he saw what was inside!! Thanks Mancrate for making this perfect gift!

    Katrina C
    Dec 21st 2014
    Best Gift EVER!

    I bought this for my husband. Not only did he love it, but ALL of our grown children loved it, too! Everyone enjoyed watching my husband open the crate and were all trying to guess what was inside. I do believe our six children, along with my husband, will be getting one for Christmas next year! The actual crate is a "keeper". Love it! Thank you for the best gift idea EVER!

    Amanda
    Apr 25th 2016
    Great Surprise

    My husband couldn't stop grinning once he finally opened the crate, the duct tape was hysterical totally worth it! Too bad the games he received were not all that great, certainly not what we would have chosen. The RetroDuo is excellent, no complaints!

    brittanybarlow9@gmail.com
    Feb 14th 2016
    Great Idea for mans gifts

    The only complaint I have is the games that came in the man crate. I got this for my boyfriend for valentines day and I will say its awesome for saving time shopping! We got two games he had never heard of "Foreman for real" and "Beethoven" One is a boxing game alright cool. Then Beethoven.... really in a man crate?? lol I was expecting a little better for a MAN crate, but over all a great gift and I just had to order more games for him on amazon. I feel like a list of the possible games that could come in your crates would be a great idea so people could prepare for ordering others in case. Like a little heads up, he just has to wait a little longer to play his gift but overall it was good and a neat idea.

    -------------------------

    MAN CRATES EDIT:

    Hi there Brittany, Sorry to hear that we fell short with the games in your Super Retro Gamer Crate! We do our best to ensure that there are only titles you'll love that are in great condition in our gamer crates and it looks like we didn't quite get the job done this time. We'd be happy to send out some way better games for you! Please give us a call at 866-902-7260 or send over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we'll do our best to make this right!

    Jennifer
    Mar 12th 2015
    Pretty awesome but...

    First of all, the duct tape cocoon was excellent. When my husband finally opened it and saw the crate with the crowbar his eyes got big and he had a big, goofy grin on his face. He marveled over everything he pulled out of the crate except the games. They were sports games and he just doesn't care for them. Overall, he enjoyed his gift and bragged about it on Facebook. Thank you Man Crates!

    Anonymous
    Feb 11th 2015
    awesome but.....

    My husband Loved it but I wish we could have picked the games. We got both sport games...my husband doesnt play any sport games. So that was a bust. Other then that its amazing. Thank you.

    Crystal Morris
    Jan 11th 2015
    Cute gift

    It was so funny to see my husband and his father open the crate. He was excited to see what the gift was, but we never heard of the games that were randomly given to him. Thank god for Amazon.

    Andrew Eakin
    Apr 18th 2016
    A bit disappointing for the price

    I received one for Xmas but was kind of annoyed at the game titles I received. Golf and Baseball :( Pretty exciting right? Going to put this back in the mancrate until I come across some better games. The candy was delicious though.

    LIZ
    Feb 26th 2015
    Hero to Zero

    I was so excited to give my boyfriend his crate as his Valentines Day gift, I let him open it early. He was super excited -I do not think I have ever seen him so excited- then his face totally changed as he pulled out the games. Even though when he read the first one it wasn't one he had heard of, he was still so excited...then he pulled out the second one and I felt like the stupidest girlfriend ever for getting him this mancrate. Both games were exactly the same! Although it isn't about the gifts for us on little "holidays" like that, I expected at least two different games for as much money I paid. Other than crates filled with purely snacks that hopefully no one could ever mess up, I doubt I will be spending that much money on another one of these. Thanks for the memories mancrates!

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    MAN CRATES EDIT:

    Hey there Liz, so sorry to hear that your crate had two of the same game!! We'd be happy to send out another game for you right away! Give us a call at 866-902-7260 or send an email over to us at: guys@mancrates.com and we'll make this right, promise!

    Nicole Marie Palmer
    Dec 29th 2014
    Included games may not be what you expect.

    After we all got a laugh at my husband opening the crate with a crow bar, he finally digs in and looks at what's inside. He pulls out a Speedy Gonzalez game for Super Nintendo and asks...."Really?!?" He's not a Looney Tunes fan. :(
    If there was some sort of indicator, or choice of what kind of game was included, I would definitely buy again.

    Ashley wilson
    Jul 2nd 2016
    Disappointed in the games

    I was so excited for my husband to open this for his birthday that I gave it to him a week early. The crate itself was awesome, but the games were horrible, we got baseball and basketball, and one of the games had someone's name written on the back of it. It's was a fry crying or what was advertised for games on the site, and considering hubby is not a sports fan I felt bad for him and a little disappointed that this was the quality for the cost.

    ---------

    Man Crates Edit:

    Hey there Ashley,

    So sorry to haer about your games. Even though the games are randomly selected we'd hate for you to be stuck with games you absolutely hate. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll see if we can work something out!

    SGT. Jacob H. USMC
    Jul 11th 2016
    They put my wife into tears

    My wife got me a crate for our Anniversary/my birthday. and when I opened it, we had a hand full of old candy and some old games I couldn't give away. She felt so bad that she started to cry, I spent 20 min comforting her and explaining that its the thought that counts. Then I decided to see how much it cost, and my god, I am livid. My anger is palpable at the price that was payed for a bit of candy and some bad games from 1991.

    Never buy from this company, if you care about someone, get them literally anything else.
    -----------

    MAN CRATES EDIT:

    Hi Jacob,

    We're so sorry to hear that you were dissapointed in the Super Retro Gamer Crate your wife purchased for you! We do offer our customers a high-five guarantee which means that we're not happy until you are, even if that means accepting a return for a complete refund. We would be happy to assist in turning your experience around. Please feel free to reach out to us and we'll do our best to make things right. Our Customer Champions are available 7 days a week (Mon-Fri 6am-6pm PST, and Sat-Sun 9am-6pm) at 866-902-7260, we're also available via email during those hours at: guys@mancrates.com.

    Araceli
    Mar 17th 2016
    Did not Arrive on time

    I'm not going to lie...I'm Pretty disappointed. The 'Guaranteed Arrival date' option upon check out is not reliable. I ordered prior to 12p 3/15 to still be within the 'Same Day Shipping' time frame that is advertised, only to later find out 'Same Day shipping' still needs at least 24hrs. Even then, I was sure I'd be fine with that since it did guarantee the date for me & I had paid extra for shipping next day (again ordered on 3/15)...But unfortunately, the package did not get to me yesterday. I checked online for status in which all it said was 'Awaiting pick up', tried to call but it was already after 6p and could not reach anyone - Sent an email early morning - no response within the hour as promised. I finally called customer service and was told there was a 'Glitch' that did not allow my product to be sent to production. They refunded my shipping fee, but my gift won't make it by today. Definitely not happy, Hope no one else gets promised a date and it not make it on time. Now today is my Brothers Birthday and I have nothing to give him ... hope he's ok with an IOU. Not Cool.

    -----------------------

    MAN CRATES EDIT:

    So sorry to hear about our dropping the ball on your order! I checked with our customer champions and they let me know that there was a pesky systems glitch that prevented your order from shipping on time. While this doesn't happen frequently, we're definitely sorry to hear that it delayed your order, also, I have checked into your order and have confirmed that we've issued a complete refund for shipping and have ensured that we are shipping your order ASAP for overnight delivery. We're so sorry to have left you without a birthday gift for your brother, please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make this right! You can reach us at 866-902-7260, or email us at guys@mancrates.com.

Back to Top
Titan Debug