close

All reviews for Puzzle Box - Escape Artist

Back to Puzzle Box - Escape Artist
Sort by:
    Rebecca Oister
    Jul 13th 2018
    Lots of fun

    Got this for my husband for Father's day and he and my boys loved it! It was so much fun that they now they got the mystery room bug again. Wish there were more like this.

    Pete Pellegrino
    Jul 1st 2018
    Perfect Puzzler Gift

    We’re a family that enjoys strategy games, escape rooms and puzzles. so this was the perfect gift for my son’s birthday, and we all ended up helping to solve it.

    Ron White, Huntington Beach, CA
    Jun 18th 2018
    HELP

    Received the Puzzle Box for Father's Day (2018).

    Wickedly bamboozling!! Hints were CLUEless (to me), but I'll give them a call for HELP.

    Neat surprise gift...looking forward for their expertise to wreck havoc on the devilish design answers.

    Debi K
    May 24th 2018
    A Birthday Gift for My Highly Analytical Son

    Omg, I finally got him this time! This birthday gift has literally been, as he told me, "The best gift he's ever received." Yay, for me!

    He has been working on getting that box open since last night. He's again working on it again tonight! A son who isn't usually amazed by any birthday gift since his birth in 1979 is driven to get that doggone box open!!

    As he is trying to get the box open, he expressed to me, "I can think of a few recipients who would love this! (Including his dad.)

    It's an expensive gift but well worth it. We arranged for a $100 gift card to be inside that box. Think of your grown kids, your husbands, your narcissistic brother at Christmas time. This gift will likely kick their *ss trying to get that lockbox open!

    Meg
    May 17th 2018
    A Unique Gift Idea for the Guy that has Everything!

    My husband is tough to buy gifts for, so I thought we’d give the puzzle box a try. I’m so glad we did. He said it was one of the best gifts he’s ever received! He enjoys challenges and thought this was a fun surprise. Thank you, Mancrates!

    Stephanie
    Apr 18th 2018
    Not as easy as I expected!

    This was a great birthday gift - It took some teamwork and about 30 minutes - it was so much fun! Great design on this thing, the detail is really impressive. Definitely recommend for anybody who likes a challenge and enjoys puzzles/games and getting the old wheels turning.

    Christine
    Mar 12th 2018
    The puzzles make the gift

    I'll start by saying my husband loved it, so any criticisms I offer here are nitpicky details. The real value in this gift is in the puzzles themselves. My husband has been on an escape room kick lately, so he loved going through these! It took him and his buddy about 35 minutes to solve them all, and he's already talking about different ways he could make use of the clues for some of his own puzzle-based creations. The gift card was a nice bonus at the end, but honestly the box could have been empty and they still would have been happy with the experience.

    Now a note about the actual lock box. Based on some of the reviews here, I opened the package prior to giving it to him just to make sure the box was actually locked. It was. I gave it a few wobbles and tilts to be sure, and it stayed locked. However, this is by no means a sophisticated lock box. My husband collects wood-carved puzzle boxes that require multiple steps to open. This is a simple, one-step cardboard box. I can see why some might have been triggered to open in transit, and if you have any familiarity with how these things work, it's easy to guess how this box opens. My husband actually did guess it - he just didn't try it until after he had solved the puzzles. But it is a fun, clever trick, and most guys aren't puzzle box collectors. :) Plus, he said that even if the box had opened at the beginning, he still would have enjoyed going through the puzzles just for fun, because for him, that was the real gift. There's nothing that says you can't do them just because you already have the prize!

    So the gift was a success. His buddy was disappointed to learn that so far there's only one version of this, because now he wants his own, but different since he's already done these puzzles. So keep them coming! However, I'd love to see the next version have a more sophisticated, high quality lock box. I know cost is a consideration, but I'd encourage offering the option of a lower gift card amount to counter that. The fun of the puzzles and a good quality box would be gift enough for us.

    Richard Merati
    Feb 18th 2018
    You have to get one of these

    I just received this gift box for my 50th birthday. My son my wife my granddaughter and my grandson all set around the table and begin to go through the puzzles. Might have been cheating but there was four or five of us so it made figuring out the clues a little easier. But it was completely awesome, and we had it opened in 18 and a half minutes. The prize inside was incredible. I truly hope you do more of these, as I would like to begin buying them as gifts for other people. Way to go with this gift it's a homerun.

    Ronnie
    Feb 14th 2018
    Fun gift

    I had more fun solving the puzzles than opening the box. Is there different boxes with different clues? This could become addicting. Great gift for the person that has everything.

    James
    Feb 14th 2018
    Awesome Gift

    Received this as a Valentine's Day present. Absolutely LOVED IT! Perfect fit for anyone that enjoys puzzles since the gift card inside can be applied to a pretty wide range of vendors (from jerky, to extreme activities, clothing, and Home Depot). Wish they made more, because I would definitely love to do another one. :)

    Kathy
    Feb 13th 2018
    way too easy

    My honey got the box open in under 5 minutes. He loves puzzles but puhlease! I still love the idea of the box and present but the puzzle box was way to easy to open. Grrrrr..he didn't even need the clues inside...double grrrr....

    B. Moore
    Jan 9th 2018
    The most fun ever!

    I too bought this for my adult son, we bought love puzzles and I told him about the product tester solving the mystery in 32 minutes. The challenge was on! Such fun, such delight and the thrill of accomplishment was real! I hope you develop many more like this. It was extremely well done. Good job, Man Crates! (P.s. It may not be the record but 24 minutes! I am one proud mom!)

    Kim Hart
    Jan 4th 2018
    Fun Gift!

    I got this puzzle box with gift card for my son’s 17th birthday. It was a big hit! He worked the puzzle with his 19 year old brother. Together they were able to solve it in around 50 minutes. The difficulty level was spot on, neither too easy or too hard. They had a great time figuring out the clues and I had a great time watching them. My son was also very pleased with the choices for which he could use his gift card. Hoping for a new version of the box in near future so I can purchase for one of my other 4 sons. Would highly recommend for any puzzle lover and will definitely be a returning customer to man crate.

    Christine Dougherty
    Dec 30th 2017
    Be aware if you are colorblind

    My Husband loved this gift but he needed a little help because it required the use of red tinted glasses and he is red-green color blind. I was a little disappointed that this restriction had an adverse effect on his experience. There was no indication in the description that this would be an issue.

    Kathie
    Dec 16th 2017
    Omgoodness!

    I got my son your video crate about 5 years ago. He loved it. I called to tell you how happy I was with your company. I also said that I had another son, and he loved gift cards. I suggested you making up some kind of crate with a gift card. Omg!!!! Thank you and no matter what you might say...I'm telling everyone that you heard me and acted on my suggestion. My other son will be getting a package from you for his next birthday. Thanks a million.

    Sam
    Nov 26th 2017
    Product tester- can't wait!

    I was one of the lucky ones that got invited to Man Crates HQ to test out the puzzle box during development. I love escape rooms, so I was curious (even a little skeptical) to see how they'd downsize those kinds of brain teasers and problem solving challenges to fit into a box.

    I was blown away. This box packs some of best puzzles I've seen in any format, and incorporates them into the physical product in extremely clever ways. I don't want to give away any spoilers because the instructions and puzzles unfold progressively, and it's amazing. The treasure chest doesn't open (really) if you don't solve the puzzles, so the satisfaction of finally figuring it out and getting it open is real. I've never seen that in a product before. It's really cool.

    They timed me for my product testing session- it took me 32 minutes to solve everything and get the chest open. If I hadn't been sitting in a quiet room with pencil and paper and everything it would definitely have taken me a little longer.

    Anyway, ever since my journey through the arcane mysteries of the puzzle box, I've been impulsively checking to see if it's launched. Can't wait to see whether my nephew will solve his before my dad- hope it's out in time for Christmas!

    Brooklyn
    Dec 2nd 2019
    Creative

    Bought this gift for my brother last year for Christmas as a way to make giving a gift card more exciting. I loved how creative this box was. My brother however felt that some of the clues didn't make sense (like the person who created it didn't test all the clues) and had to figure out how to get past the step without the clues. Was an interesting gift but probably will not buy again.

    Stephanie
    Dec 27th 2018
    Nice idea

    I loved the idea of this. There was a little mix up because I ordered two of the same thing but with different messages. Unfortunately the notes were inside the box under the tape. They made it right and were easy to work with. The only reason for the 4 stars is, my son was holding the box while he was trying to solve the 2nd clue and it came open. It took no effort for him to open it. Kinda ruined the surprise. I also got one for my manager. Everyone in the office was so intrigued. May people checked out the site that day to order things. I would not hesitate to order from here again.

    B
    Dec 28th 2019
    Cool idea, really easy

    The 30 to 40 minutes is a very rough estimate as it took me just over 12 minutes to get in. It's a nice way to present a giftcard, but I feel like the money would had been better spent on say an escape room.

    John Wilburn
    Dec 24th 2019
    Fun and easy

    As a veteran escapist I had no trouble blowing through this box in 20 mins. It was a simple and easy challenge that was very rewarding! Powder packaged with card gave me a headache tho.

    JACKIE
    Dec 30th 2018
    Fun watching the challenge but...

    Disappointing when it's finally opened and they go to claim a gift card and get a response to try again at a later time due to not having recieved the codes for gift cards.

    Rachel
    Jun 23rd 2018
    He enjoyed it for the most part

    I bought this for my Dad for Father's day. There is a clue where you have to read small print through some special glasses. He had a hard time reading the clue. If the company emproves the box they need to redesign that clue to make that part easier to read. But otherwise cool concept.

    Kathy
    Feb 13th 2018
    way too easy

    My honey got the box open in under 5 minutes. He loves puzzles but puhlease! I still love the idea of the box and present but the puzzle box was way to easy to open. Grrrrr..he didn't even need the clues inside...double grrrr....

    Noelle
    Dec 26th 2020
    Little to no instructions

    I bought this for my boyfriend for Christmas as a fun way to give him a gift card to somewhere I knew he would like, but it was more frustrating than fun. The Aster ribbon had no instructions on how to align it to get the code and the hints didn't help because it said to begin by aligning the S and L but there was not an L on the ribbon. The other puzzles were interesting and fairly easily solved but the frustration by the ribbon out weighed that. The puzzle box itself and how it opens is pretty cool.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    JB
    Dec 13th 2020
    Defective

    The puzzle box simply opened by lifting the lid. No clues or trick needed. And it was empty. Some of the puzzles were interesting.

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,

    Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the puzzle box you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund.

    Please let us know if there's anything we can do to turn this around! Also, please let us know if you would like to start up a return or if there is anything else I can help with. Feel free to give us a call at 866-902-7260 or drop us a line at guys@mancrates.com.

    -Team Man Crates

Back to Top
Titan Debug