close

All reviews for Build Your Own Barrel Smoker

Back to Build Your Own Barrel Smoker
Sort by:
    Gary Lutz
    May 25th 2021
    Great!

    Me wife bought me this as a Christmas gift and I couldn't be happier. Easy to build and use. I have smoked ribs, fish, chicken and pork shoulder and can honestly say better or as good as the local bbq joint. Trust me this works just as good as the overpriced smokers. Buy it you won't be disappointed.

    angela nicholas
    Apr 29th 2021
    my husbands favorite smoker

    I bought this for my husband to give him something to do. He has used it a few times with wood chips we made from a storm damaged tree. The last time we used it I asked him which one he liked best. We have 2 electric smokers that we have used for years and he said "The barrel smoker!" He likes it best because we get the "Fire" that we don't get with the other smokers. So far the best thing we've made is smoked chicken tinga tacos . Thank you

    Mark H
    Jan 2nd 2021
    Highly recommended project

    I received the barrel smoker as a Christmas gift. I make my own beef jerky & bacon, so this was a perfect way to add extra smoking capacity to my existing setup.
    The parts kits were easy to identify, and the included tools made for easy assembly. I especially enjoyed working with the step drill bit.
    The drill templates are sturdy; I recommend retaining them in case you want to make modifications later.
    I spaced the assembly over 3 separate days & was very pleased with the result.
    Hints: a workbench with some scrap wood helps to "block" the barrel in place during drilling. A strong magnet helps to pick up tiny bits of metal left over from drilling. Keep charged batteries handy, especially when drilling the lower vent holes. An angled power drill is easier to balance when drilling on the barrel surface. Finally, an application of high-temp paint will cover any small exterior chips that occur when working with the upper & lower lids.
    Recommendation to Mancrates: offer a second vent door parts kit as an option to add a small access point for placing more wood chips during the smoking process.
    Thanks Mancrates!

    Javonn Musgrove
    Dec 30th 2020
    Christmas gift

    This was one of the best gifts Ive ever received. My girlfriend hunted this down as I have wanted to start smoking meats for a new hobby. Built it the same day. Used it the next day. Works great!

    Marcy Merrill
    Dec 28th 2020
    Great fun!

    Got this for my husband who dreams of being a smoker (never done it). Thought this would be fun for him...a beginner smoker - I’ll get him a fancy one if he uses the home-built one! We built it together in about 3 hrs. Instructions need an update, but we didn’t encounter any problems. He smoked a rack of ribs for dinner and they were pretty darn good (we are in Alaska and this worked at 25F, kept the temp pretty constant).

    Good find, good buy! (We got a puzzle box too and that was super fun!)

    Victor marin
    Dec 27th 2020
    Highly recommended

    Got his as a Christmas gift. It was easy and fund to build. We smoked ribs the same day and they were phenomenal! Best gift to provide someone.

    Joe Callahan
    Dec 19th 2020
    Better than expected!

    Wife got this for me and it sat in the box for longer than I care to admit, but after we spent a fun evening together building it, then my wife taught me how to brine a roast, and we smoked some of the best meat we've ever eaten the next day. 1st time smokers, but die hard fans from here on out. Thanks Man Crates!

    Angela
    Jul 28th 2020
    So cool!

    Bought this nifty little guy for my husband for his birthday. He put it together and we’re smoking some meat right now! Too bad we can’t post pictures because this smoker works great! Awesome gift for the guy who has everything.

    Kyle
    Jul 2nd 2020
    Awesome lil smoker!!

    My wife surprised me with this and it has been awesome! The build was easy and fun. Even one my first use, it was easy to dial the temp I wanted and it stayed consistent for hours! It’s smaller size is way more portable than the full 55gal drums, so it’s great even for travel or tailgating. It also just looks smooth. I highly recommend!

    Greg
    Jun 22nd 2020
    Awesome

    I was given this smoker as a gift for Father's Day. We built it as a family project and it was so much fun. The build is not difficult at all and the instructions are very easy to follow. Our first cook on it was super easy and the food came out amazing. I would recommend getting a remote meat thermometer as it makes the smoking process easier. Definitely recommend it!!

    David Stewart Jr
    Mar 7th 2021
    Ehh

    It’s really nice but the lack of instructions ruined the experience. I thank you folks for the product but 4 stars until you guys include better instructions

    Dave Campbell
    Jan 2nd 2021
    Gift was a hit but the barrel wasn't seasoned- rusted out inside

    My step dad loved this gift initially but when he went to put it together he found that it hadn't been seasoned. Because of this a thin layer of rust formed on the inside of the barrel. Very disappointed

    Man Crates Response: Hey there, thank you for your feedback! Apologies that you were disappointed in the product you received! We do our best to offer a great experience and value for the price and we're sad to hear we missed that mark for you. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'd be happy to work with you to make this right.

    -Team Man Crates

    Thomas
    Jun 12th 2021
    Inaccurate Instructions

    Warning - inaccurate Instruction book. Most of the hole sizes are wrong, and don't match the template sheet. Not a huge problem since that's a really obvious error and easily sorted out by measuring each screw or bolt. But it's sloppy and a little annoying.

    My major complaint is that the instructions state to drill the upper grill rack holes at 5" below the top lip of the barrel. But the hook rack that is also supposed to use these bolts is 6” tall. So if you install at 5"(as instructed) the lid won't close.

    So now I need to re-drill the holes and work out a way to seal off the old ones. Extremely disappointed.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    One Very Pissed Wife
    Dec 24th 2020
    Shipping Box

    Super pissed that I bought this for My Husband for Christmas and the side of the shipping box says, " Barrel Smoker." Thanks Man Crate for ruining my Christmas gifts. Because I work everyday including Christmas Eve, and guess who brought the delivery inside, low and behold my husband. Super pissed off but maybe change the box so you don't ruin some other wife, mother, daughter, or sister's surprise.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

Back to Top