close

All reviews for Personalized Ammo Can Speaker Kit 2.0

Back to Personalized Ammo Can Speaker Kit 2.0
Sort by:
    The Real Tony V
    Dec 3rd 2018
    How I Spent my Saturday Morning

    I received this as a Christmas present from my wife because she knows I like to mess with stuff. Well it took me a year to get to it, but when I finally did I found myself more than satisfied with the results. I was especially impressed with the instructions. Actually, the instructions are pretty vague but that's the beauty of it. It separates the men from the millennial pajama wearing, man-bun, effeminate. I had to repair the volume control connection on the circuit board, but having a homie that has soldering skills helps. The sound is awesome. It's too bad this had been discontinued. It's an excellent gift for a dude.

    Chris Chandler
    Jun 27th 2018
    Booming Sound from an Ammo Can

    Received this kit from coworkers while recovering from a motorcycle collision. It was easy to set up and assemble. Took me 3-1/2 to 4 hours from start to finish. Charged the batteries all night before running the amps on battery power. Music played from line-in and Bluetooth connections. Only discrepancy was the charging and Bluetooth leds were switched on the connection diagram. Sound quality is great!

    Robert Notman
    Mar 25th 2018
    Blue Tooth?

    I ordered the Ammo Can Speaker Kit 2.0 for myself...as my wife says that Christmas comes to me every month...so why not?

    The kit goes together easy enough. I guess real men either don't need instructions or won't read them. The instructions that come with the kit is pretty sparse. You need to drill eight holes but only 7 are pictured.

    Not a fan of black ammo cans. So as soon as I drilled the eight holes I painted it Olive Drab. This will go much better with my WW2 jeep, a 1942 Ford GPW. Also, not a fan of chrome or silver so I painted the speaker (horns?) OD as well. A neat touch that would improve the kit would to include some black wire covers like those that go on computer fans. I've ordered some 120mm grills to see if I can get these to fit. Just need a bit longer screws and some pipe keep the grill off of the speaker.

    The tape to hold the boards to the can slipped so I ended up mounting them to the wall of the can instead of the lid which is what the picture looked like. All of the wires except the blue tooth antenna are really, really long. The blue tooth is very short and the snap on fitting is a pain. It fell off when the board shifted from the tape. I'm sure the tape would work better if there were more flat surface space on the board and the can.

    I guess I don't fully understand blue tooth technology. I turned the box on and my phone found the device and paired with it. However, it has difficulty connecting. I'm like 6 inches away and still no connection. There are some steps that I haven't quite memorized yet. Flip the device on and off a couple of times and then eventually it will connect with my Pixel 2 XL. And when it does, it sounds GREAT.

    I'm looking forward to testing out my new sound machine in my jeep as I drive it around playing tunes from the 1940s. The ammo can should blend in.

    Kaylene
    Mar 13th 2018
    He Loves it!!

    He is a tinkerer and music lover, so I thought this would be perfect. He loves it! The sound quality is good, putting it together was fun for him, and it’s LOUD which he loves.

    The instructions are not exhaustive, which was scary at first, but after he got to looking at everything he figured it all out without issue.

    Iris Murillo
    Mar 7th 2018
    This is a really awesome gift for a man

    I bought this gift for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day I had it delivered where he works, he said he was pleasantly surprised and really loved the gift I picked this gift because he owns guns and riffles and likes the ammo cans he has a collection, so it was totally unexpected and his coworkers and boss were really jealous. I have bought many gifts from man crates for my boyfriend, son and my daughters boyfriend and loved them all when it comes to a man man crates knows excatly what to do needless to say I'm one happy and satisfied customer.

    Thanks MANCRATES team 👍🏽

    CAP
    Mar 4th 2018
    Boom Box!

    Received as a gift. Fun to assemble and sounds good. I may order myself another for the office. You should sell a “blank” kit for people that might to turn other items into a boom box (crates, kegs, coolers, etc).

    Ellen
    Feb 28th 2018
    My husband loved this gift!

    This speaker is awesome, bought it for my husband for Valentine's Day. I knew he'd love it because it's so different and he thoroughly enjoyed putting it together. He uses it all the time.

    Amanda Simeone
    Feb 28th 2018
    Awesome idea came out great

    I got my husband this as a gift and now I need earplugs :) great idea for someone who likes tinkering and showing off unique pieces

    Christy
    Feb 23rd 2018
    Bad Ass

    I bought this for my husband for Valentine's day. I was trying to think outside of the norm and I was successful! He finally got to put it together today and we haven't quit listening to it since. He had it put together in about 2 hrs. And that was in between trying to get our 3 yr old to leave stuff alone haha. I will most def. Be trying another kit for our anniversary! P.s the tips on the extra hole came in handy. The only bad part was there's not a knob for the volume!

    Ashley
    Feb 15th 2018
    Love it

    I ordered this item as a Valentine’s gift for my husband. His only complaint- he didn’t get to smash, bash or rip the package. He enjoyed being able to put it together the way he wanted and the sound is good quality.

    Amanda Scarber
    Feb 7th 2018
    So much fun

    My kids picked this out for my husband. It was so much fun watching him try to figure out what the “crate” was all about. There was a small hiccup in the process and man crates jumped through hoops to make it right.

    Stephanie Smith
    Jan 5th 2018
    Best Hubby Son moment

    My son and I purchased this for my husband for Christmas. He absolutely loved it and even better the two of the spent some time Christmas night putting it together.

    Michael
    Jan 2nd 2018
    Great gift for the handy guy!

    Great gift! I received this for my birthday! Speed square and pencil are handy to layout holes for switches and LEDs. Make sure you check clearances between switches and speakers before drilling your holes. Basic electronics knowledge helps. Fun build!

    Stephen Kuckelman
    Dec 30th 2017
    Man Crates is unbeatable!

    I ordered the Ammo Can Speaker Kit 2.0 as a Christmas gift for my son. This was my third Man Crates gift so my expectations were understandably high. My son is a hunter and skeet shooter and builds his own computers, so I knew he would love the Ammo Can Speaker Kit. As he was putting it together on the day after Christmas, he discovered that the circuit board had a broken component and could not be used, nor could he go any further with assembly. Of course, I felt badly about giving a broken Christmas gift and on the morning of 27 Dec I called Man Crates and spoke to a very nice young woman who identified the part from my description of the problem and assured me a replacement part would be shipped immediately. A day and a half later I received the FedEx overnight shipment with full replacement parts, and my son completed his project a few hours later. Team Man Crates gets TWO BIG THUMBS UP from me for their follow up Customer Service and TWO BIG THUMBS UP from my son for a fun project with unparalleled sound. WOW, does it look and sound great! Nobody would be disappointed with this gift and it can be given with the confidence that it is backed by MAN CRATES....... I want one!!!

    Aimee Jenkins
    Dec 26th 2017
    Merry Manly Christmas!

    Thank you, I got this for my husband and he just loved it. I ordered it to be wrapped in duct tape and we all got a good chuckle out of that. The product is solid, instruction were accidentally thrown away in the unwrapping of Christmas morning. It was super easy to access the website and download the instruction. I’m very pleased so far. One small piece came off within the control panel. We contemplated calling for a replacement, but husband was able to appoxy it back in place.

    You will not be disappointments f you buy this for your husband. The project was wonderful! Great sound and clarity!

    Thank you,
    AGJ

    pb
    Dec 25th 2017
    Testosterone in a can!

    Got this for my 20 year old Army Cadet. What can I say....ammo can, build it yourself, instructions to ignore, tools, drilling, sandpaper, electronics, go back and read ignored part of instructions, duct tape (for good measure on the bluetooth connector), loud music, return of the boom-box, did I say ammo can? I have once again cemented myself as the coolest Dad around by delivering something completely unexpected....clocks ticking guys; what do I do for next year?

    Alicia
    Dec 17th 2017
    Best gift ever for gadget-y types of guys

    I bought this gift for my husband who is a software engineer. He absolutely *loved* it and he and my 2 boys had a great time laying out all of the components and strategizing how to attack the project. Then my husband literally stayed up all night to put this speaker together (used a headlamp and everything!). You should have seen him parade the speaker around when it was finished and show it off to everyone who came over. (Basically taking any opportunity to pat himself on the back for a job well done!) It's definitely his most favorite project! The black can is very sleek-looking and the speaker quality is quite good. Bluetooth range is strong too. All around an excellent gift that gets used in our house and is a huge source of pride for my husband.

    Joseph
    May 20th 2018
    Good service, fun gift

    My wife gave this to me as a Christmas gift but I didn't have time to put it together until a few months later. I ran into the same problem as others with the Bluetooth and Charging LEDs being reversed from the diagram, but it was easy to fix and it would seem like it would be easy for the manufacturer to include a card with the correction in future orders. Then again, just figuring that out was kind of fun. The charging LED just stays on but the batteries charge ok. An improvement would be to put a grill over the speakers to protect them but I will probably figure something out for that. I had a problem with the Bluetooth connecting and the company promptly replaced the part, which was great. Overall it was a fun, thoughtful, and useful gift that has made some of my buddies envious.

    Amy Griffiths
    Feb 15th 2018
    Great gift for the hands on guy

    This was a Great Valentine's day gift for my man. The sound is GREAT and the macho design was a winner. Only two issues that needed troubleshooting: Bluetooth terminal needs to be stronger and a file would be convenient to have included in the kit, to deal with the drill burrs. I would buy this again and or recommend it. Be prepared for all the man drool from his buddies as he puts together this bad boy.

    Amy Griffiths
    Feb 15th 2018
    Great gift for the hands on guy

    This was a Great Valentine's day gift for my man. The sound is GREAT and the macho design was a winner. Only two issues that needed troubleshooting: Bluetooth terminal needs to be stronger and a file would be convenient to have included in the kit, to deal with the drill burrs. I would buy this again and or recommend it. Be prepared for all the man drool from his buddies as he puts together this bad boy.

    Robert
    Feb 14th 2018
    Works better than Expected !

    My Wife bought this for me as a Valentines Day Gift. Took me about an hour to assemble and complete. Only thing that should be addressed,and I'm glad someone here in the post reviews wrote this , is that there are 8 holes, not 7 you need to drill. The side shows 7 but you need to put one in the back or side for the AC Input plug. Other then there is no plastic or metal Knob for the volume control, this Bluetooth Ammo Box Speaker set works pretty Badass !!

    Larry
    Jan 29th 2018
    Great Sound

    I received the Ammo Speaker kit for a Christmas gift. Admittedly I wasn't expecting too much but was I surprised!!☺

    The final product sounds way better than I ever expected, but the assembly was a little more technical that a novice should attempt.

    During assembly I ran into a few questions and I got a great response from Josh at Customer Service. My 1st issue was the 3 LED indicator lights. The diagram tells you what they are but doesn't tell you which color is for which function and all 3 plugs are the same. RED = Power, Blue = Bluetooth, Green = Charging. Next, one of the circuit board wiring receptacles was never soldered to the board, or just broke off. Josh sent me replacement quickly. You'll also have to drill 1 additional mounting hole, making 8 not 7 holes as pictured. Make your hole layout to avoid the welded overlap seam in each end of the box.

    Be very careful with the SMALL wire from the Bluetooth antenna to the circuit board!! It is difficult to get plugged into the board, but needle nose pliers help get it snapped in place. Look close at the 6 pin volume control wire plug. The board receptacle for it has 10-12 pins, but the 6 wire plugs in to one end ( See image in instructions)

    When my wiring was complete I had a small, 16" 4 wire red/black lead left over with no instructions about it. Next came the mounting for the battery holder and the amp, which the instructions gave no clue as where to mount. Josh told me the one the have mounted them on the underside of the lid using the Velcro adhesive. This works but is not a great solution. I'm thinking on the bottom would be better if there is enough space, but be mindful of the short wire length from the bluetooth antenna.

    Overall it's a great project to do with a kid, but more detailed instructions and additional images would be well received.

    Some Dad
    Jan 18th 2018
    Took about 2 hours for son and father

    All works well with the exception of the volume knob. But that was ok because it can be adjusted with the phone. Both Bluetooth and aux works fine. An 8th hole was needed for all exposed devices. Time with the kid was the most valuable gift.

    Paige
    Jan 29th 2018
    Great gift idea, but...

    Purchased this as a gift for an outdoorsy-hands on man. The concept is great, and he was very excited when he opened it and began putting it together. However, the "motherboard" had a piece broken off (volume control piece), therefore we could not complete the kit build. I called customer service, very professional and courteous, and was informed a new mother board would be over-nighted. It is now a week after that phone call, and we still have not received the piece. Something that was supposed to be overnighted on a Tuesday, was not shipped out until Friday, and was shipped with 2 day express.. meaning the peice will come this Tuesday. I still stand behind this product, but when paying $14 shipping, I expect things to be in tact, and an over night piece be delivered quicker than a week after it was promised. This was a gift for a planned guys trip, and now it will not be able to be used since all pieces were not received in tact. Slightly disappointing. I cannot give a review on how the product functions since we are still unable to complete the build. What we were able to build took about an hour. He enjoyed the look of the product, and hope the sound does not disappoint.

Back to Top