close
Free Shipping on all orders over $75!

All reviews for Micro Brewed Kit (1 gal)

Back to Micro Brewed Kit (1 gal)
Sort by:
    J
    Mar 21st 2021
    Awesome gift!

    We gifted this to someone and they absolutely loved it!!
    It’s hard to look for unique and cool gifts that someone will actually enjoy and this company definitely will have us coming back, delivered right on time and super cool gift.

    DEA OGATA
    Jan 2nd 2020
    The gift that keeps on giving!!!

    Ok, first of all, I have to say that this was THE BEST gift I gave this Christmas, hands down! Lets start with the duct tape. Then go to the crate. And finally, the actual gift - this was such a fun gift! I got this for my son for Christmas, and (once he got it opened) he was SO EXCITED! He couldn't WAIT to get it home so that he could start the brewing! He already has his first batch fermenting, and I know that when it's done he's going to want to do more!

    The really fun thing about these is that the crate or the bottle or the ammo can, or whatever the actual "gift" comes in is so awesome that everyone thought THAT was their gift! And the little crow bars to open the crates...some of them (sadly, not all) were bottle openers. Those were the BEST! Everyone wanted the ones that open bottles (Hailey, can I send the non-opener ones back to you for trades?).

    Which leads me to...HAILEY! I need to give a HUGE shout out to Hailey in Customer Service (chat) for being so helpful with my MANY Man Crate purchases this season - she was truly a saint! I purchased several items from mancrate.com, and she was so helpful with making sure that everything was made right if there was a little hiccup. Thank you so much Hailey! I have to say it again to your bosses just in case they didn't see me say it before - you deserve a HUGE raise!!!

    Candice Johnson
    Dec 31st 2019
    Best gift ever

    Gifted for Xmas for my husband. He loves IPA beer and he's so excited to get started. Comes with everything you need except bottles which you can recycle yourself, understandably since they are glass bottles. He even said it's the best gift he got this Xmas. I also have my eye on few other items I'd like to get for all the men in my family. Can't wait to try this out!

    Michelle Cherby
    Sep 25th 2019
    He loves it!

    I purchased the micro brew kit for my husband and he absolutely loves it. The kit has everything you need to create your own unique batch of beer.
    We had one minor issue with the mini syphon being cracked when it arrived. I immediately contacted customer service and they shipped out a new one the next day. We received it quickly and we could not be more pleased with the customer service we received! Thank you for offering such amazing gift ideas and for being a top notch company who truly cares about your customers satisfaction! We've already recommended your company to our friends and plan to make more purchases during the holidays.
    Thanks again for everything!

    Amanda
    Mar 16th 2019
    Best Present I’ve EVER Given

    Got this for my boyfriend for his birthday. The hype so far is unreal. He won’t stop talking about it. High quality materials came out of the box upon receiving. I was very nervous when purchasing but upon checkout I was presented with the “diabolical duct tape cocoon” and was like take all my money! Great gift! I will definitely be purchasing every gift for my main men (dad, boyfriend, sisters boyfriend) from here on out! Love this!

    Mark Piskorowski
    Jun 22nd 2018
    Micro brew kit

    Daughter ordered this for me for Father's Day , like previous reviews the glass jug was shattered into a thousand pieces and it was shipped in a cardboard box not a crate like the website makes you think. It looks like it came right off the shelf which you think they would have put into a bigger padded box to prevent such damage from FedEx. On the upside when I contacted customer service they were aware of similar issues and did agree to send me a new glass keg in a couple of business days.

    Sara
    May 28th 2018
    Perfect gift

    I got this for my fiance for our anniversary. It's like an easy bake oven for men, but with beer and it's super manly. Needless to say, he loves it.

    Luis
    Oct 20th 2017
    Great service

    Got mine as a gift and it came with the extract syrup spilled so everything was sticky. The person who bought it for me called and they send a replacement in less than a week.

    Dan H.
    Feb 26th 2017
    That was fun!

    I received this as a gift and became a home brewer in a day. The kit had everything I needed, hops, malt, etc. I cooked it up on a Saturday morning, the wort smell stunk up the house, after cooking, put in my man cave for 2 weeks. I just bottled & capped it this morning. It will be ready by St. Paddy's!

    Alyssa
    Feb 13th 2017
    Customer service has your back!

    I received this kit a week before I wanted to give it as a gift, and unfortunately the carboy was shattered to pieces upon arrival. I called customer service and they immediately agreed to send me another full kit to arrive within the week. After a few days I called to check the status of my order, but customer service could find no record of the first replacement that was supposed to be sent out. Could have been a huge bummer, BUT Luke at customer service saved the day and sent me a replacement part that shipped over the weekend and arrived just in time, in tact.

    Thérèse
    Jan 14th 2017
    Buy It!!

    Man Crates is *amazing*.
    The entire kit is of high quality, and obviously well thought out.
    Customer Service is unprecedented. I needed a replacement due to an accident (my fault). They sent out the replacement immediately. Received the day after the call. This gift was greatly appreciated by the receiver.
    I HIGHLY recommend this kit, and *anything* Man Crates.

    Rose Tharp
    Apr 28th 2016
    worth it!

    I got this for my fiance for V-Day. Although there was an initial equipment issue, they replaced the broken part quickly and included a consolation package of beef jerky. Once we were able to start the process, it was a fun experiment. Even though it takes two weeks to ferment and another week or two to carbonate, the unique flavor was worth the wait. I only wish it came in a crate! Considerations: the two varying sets of instructions are confusing, and customers will need a pot with plenty of extra room for boiling (10-12 quarts). Thanks for a great gift and awesome customer service!

    Barry
    Jan 13th 2016
    Great Gift!

    Bought one for my son and son-in-law (and one for me) for Christmas and they couldn't wait to get started. The instructions get a little fuzzy because there are two different instructions that display different cooking times and the amount of yeast to use so we split the difference. Fun experience and in two weeks I'll give it a taste!

    Theresa
    Dec 25th 2015
    He loved it!

    He was really excited when he opened it Christmas morning. Had everything he needed to make his own beer, and he is a true beer lover! Will be skipping the worrying I usually do over presents for guys, I'll just get him a man crate from now on.

    Denise
    Aug 22nd 2015
    Micro Brewed Kit

    I bought this for my sons 38th b-day. I wanted something other then the same gift as always. I googled unusual gifts for men & found your web sight & wull for sure order more gifts in the future. Your packaging is very unique & fun! my son looked like a kid opening it up. He loved it! And it also was very great that I could order it & have it shipped to his house.

    Deborah
    Jul 23rd 2015
    Micro Brewed Kit

    I bought this product for my oldest son (a chemical engineer)for his birthday. He was very impressed with the quality of materials and how complete the set was. I had found other brew kits online, but they were made of plastic and other inferior materials that taint the flavor of the "brew" so this was a great find for a great price. Overall, I am completely satisfied with the product and the company. It was delivered the next day! I will absolutely be purchasing other items from Man Crates in the future!

    Anonymous
    Jun 26th 2015
    Superb!

    The staff is incredible! Was very knowledgeable about their product and had great recommendations. I picked this for my dad and he was super excited about the whole thing!

    Lainey
    Feb 13th 2019
    Great but.......

    We received this package quickly however the main glass brew jar was broken. I was surprised to see no bubble wrap or styrofoam. Just the box says fragile. I read this on other reviews for this kit as well. I checked the box before my husband opened it so I could replace it if needed. Customer care was super helpful in getting me a replacement.(that’s why I rated 4 stars) But if they were to use something to protect it for shipping they wouldn’t have to replace so many. And people wouldn’t be disappointed when seeing the expensive gift shattered.

    sande
    Dec 26th 2018
    Man Box

    I bought this for my son, and as I watched him open the box (which I thought contained the crate) I was disappointed because I also thought this was coming in the crate, and that's half the fun! I was disappointed that the box contained all the items to brew, not a crate, as I had expected. He on the other side, was delighted with the gift ~ I expected the Jerky in a box, but not the micro brew kit

    Sande
    Dec 25th 2018
    Man Box

    I got this for my son, and was so excited for him to open it! I was also disappointed that it comes in a cardboard box, not a crate as they had me believing. The packaging I was expecting was half the fun and surprise ~ I think I was more disappointed than my son, who absolutely loved it!

    HR
    Feb 1st 2018
    Valentines Gift

    While I know my husband will enjoy this gift, because it's a cool idea, I must say I was a bit disappointed that in came in a box and not a crate, since I was purchasing a 'man crate' and not a 'man box'.

    Allison Mullin
    Dec 16th 2020
    Good Gift but not as expected

    Got this as a gift for my boyfriend for his birthday. One of the reasons I bought this from man crate was because I thought it came in the fun crate that my boyfriend could struggle to open. He loves the gift, but was slightly disappointed when he found out it was from man crate with no crate. Also the gift set itself is from Northern Brewer, and if you go on their website they have the same exact kit for $10 less than here. Don’t know why I spent more money to get another companies product.

    Man Crates Response: We are so sorry to hear you are disappointed that your order did not come in a crate. We do have a few items that we sell which do not come in crates. The crates are our the base of our brand and excellent gifts. However, we choose not to limit such glorious gift-giving to just wooden boxes. We offer other legendary gifts such as our: fresh-from-the-front-lines Ammo Cans, or our insanely-delicious JerkyGrams, and most recently our line of (If-You Want-Something-Done-Right-You-Have-To-) DIY project kits.

    We do try our best to make it clear that certain items do not come in crates. Repeatedly on the site we make mention of this, specifically under the "add to cart" button we have written "This product ships in a box (NOT A CRATE) " as well as including a picture of how the item ships. In the product description we also have listed "Delivered: In an awesome cardboard box (NOT A CRATE)" shown on the page. On the cart page before you process your order we have also included this message and another picture of how the items ships as well. Sorry if you missed any or all of these signals, we've done our best
    o try and give you a heads up!

    We’re sorry for any confusion resulting from the purchase that was thought to be coming in a crate. As always, we have a very generous return policy and if you wish you can return the item for a complete refund for any reason.

    The bottom line is, we're not happy until you're happy, please let us know if there's anything I can do to turn this around! Also, please let us know if you would like to start up a return or if there is anything else I can help with. Feel free to give us a call at 866-902-7260 or drop us a line at guys@mancrates.com. Have a good one!

    -Team Man Crates

    Alex
    Apr 29th 2020
    Didnt come in a CRATE from MAN CRATES.. misleading

    I am disappointing to find that the package did not come in a CRATE and came in a cardboard box. From the reviews other received the crate, and what drew me to your site was the fact it came.... in a crate. And the fact that i had to pay $20+ for shipping? for a cardboard box? Seriously?
    Everything in the box was fine, and my boyfriend was still thrilled with the gift i am just extremely disappointing how misleading this was.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there,

    Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your order! While we love sealing up great gifts inside wooden crates, we understand that not every recipient appreciates the sweat and struggle that can go into liberating them. That’s why we’ve added a variety of items to our spread that ship out in other ways. Your gift could arrive in one of a few forms depending which item(s) you order, and if you’d like that gift wrapped in our Diabolical Duct Tape Cocoon.

    If you’re in the market for our namesake crates, keep an eye out for anything on our site that has “Crate” in the title. We’ve included a photo on each Product Description Page as well as just inside your Shopping Cart, letting you know this item is a crated one, and that it comes with one of our Man Crates crowbars.

    We do our best to let you know how the item is shipping by showing a photo on the product’s page and in your cart of how the item ships. We also let you know how the item is packaged in the product description itself.

    That being said, we're happy to work with you to make this right by offering a discount or to arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

    Kevin
    Dec 2nd 2019
    Total Dud

    I received the brew kit as a gift. Although the instructions are very brief and simple (perhaps too simple), I followed them to the letter on my first attempt at home brewing. Two steps did not come out as described in the instructions.

    1 - The sanitizing process produced no suds whatsoever. Regardless, I sanitized everything obsessively, using clean filtered water mixed with the sanitizer as directed .

    2 - No fermentation whatsoever. After a full week, no bubbles or other visible activity. All steps, including cool, dark storage location, were meticulously completed.

    I haven't gotten past the first week of fermentation, so I can't comment on the remainder of the process.

    I'm very disappointed to have to tell my son how his well-intended and thoughtful gift turned out.

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,

    Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the Brew Kit you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a discount or to arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

Back to Top