close
Free Shipping on all orders over $75!

All reviews for Folding Knife Making Kit

Back to Folding Knife Making Kit
Sort by:
    Sabine
    Aug 1st 2021
    Thanks, Man Crates!

    Amazing kit… I bought this as a birthday gift for my dad, and upon opening he said (and I quote) “it’s the best present anyone’s ever got me!” He assembled it in no time and now it’s his new favorite go to knife. Thanks Man Crates, from another happy customer!

    Sarah Murren
    Jun 21st 2021
    Love man crates!!

    This is the 5th time I have bought from man crates and my hubs always loves them!! This folding knife was perfect for Father’s Day!! He and our daughter built it together! Also they shipped it to me with in 2 days!!

    john wes Lewis
    May 6th 2020
    folding knife making kit was a HIT

    Gave this to our 78 year old father and he absolutely loves it. It's the perfect gift for that gentleman who wants to tinker with things and create a finished product. It took him half an hour just to get past the duck tape! Perfect gift for this guy. Thank you!

    Danielle
    May 1st 2020
    The most excited ever

    I bought this for my dad for his 70th birthday. I live in a different state and didn't get to see him open it, but my mom said it is the most excited she has ever seen him when opening a gift. When I spoke to him, he was very grateful that the kit comes with everything you need (table vice, sand paper etc.)

    William
    Apr 4th 2020
    Great Gift!!

    My Son bought Me the folding Knife With tool Kit for X-mas 2 Years ago! I'm a trucker so haven't had time to put it together!! I just retied so went to work on it. It was a fun project and Great Quality!!

    Dee Dee
    Dec 29th 2019
    Perfect!

    Man Crates has so many awesome gifts -- many I would love to give to so many manly relatives and friends. Finally I gave the Folding Knife Making Kit to my brother for Christmas. Since it did not come in a crate I opted for the duct tape gift wrap. :D

    This was the best gift ever! My brother is so delighted with the vise, etc.

    Thank you for this! Well Done.

    Jharris
    Dec 9th 2019
    Man crate with no crate

    I just assumed all man crates come...in a crate. Read the whole description or you’ll pay $150 for a man-cardboard box.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there,

    Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your order! While we love sealing up great gifts inside wooden crates, we understand that not every recipient appreciates the sweat and struggle that can go into liberating them. That’s why we’ve added a variety of items to our spread that ship out in other ways. Your gift could arrive in one of a few forms depending which item(s) you order, and if you’d like that gift wrapped in our Diabolical Duct Tape Cocoon.

    If you’re in the market for our namesake crates, keep an eye out for anything on our site that has “Crate” in the title. We’ve included a photo on each Product Description Page as well as just inside your Shopping Cart, letting you know this item is a crated one, and that it comes with one of our Man Crates crowbars.

    We do our best to let you know how the item is shipping by showing a photo on the product’s page and in your cart of how the item ships. We also let you know how the item is packaged in the product description itself.

    That being said, we're happy to work with you to make this right by offering a discount or to arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

    Rebecca Lewis
    Feb 15th 2019
    Awesome product and customer service

    I got this project box for my husband for valentines day. He LOVED it! He thought it was so cool and was very excited to get started. He also said the tools included are super handy as he does wood working and metal working and he can use it for future projects as well.
    Our box came with a few missing parts so I messaged the guys at Mancrates and they not only refunded our previous shipping cost, they also sent us an entire new package (since they don't carry the pieces individually) at no cost to us, and said we can keep the previous incomplete box! It means extra tools for my husband and a raving review from me :) Love Mancrates and I will definitely be ordering from them in the future!

    Chelsea Russell
    Feb 12th 2019
    My. Dad. Loved. This!

    Got this for my pops about 2 years ago. He's very good with building thingsand putting things together so it only took him a day or two. What I DIDNT expect was the amount of time he would take to find the perfect image to carve onto the handle of the knife! It was about 8 months that he spent meticulously looking for what to carve, and then went out and bought carving supplies! My dad retired so I really appreciated the time he spent messing with this. Im constantly looking for little DIY projects like this to keep him busy. He loved it and was so proud when the whole thing came together he couldn't stop talking about it! Great gift!

    Joe Caverly
    Jan 11th 2019
    SS Hits Another 1 Out of The Park

    Well i have to say Man Crates and my girl have done it again. This is the 2nd knife build kit my girl has gotten for me from Man Crates and it is wonderful. I never leave the house without a knife in my pocket and now its 1 that i was able to assemble and have pride in. SS you are always on point(play on words intended) when you buy from MC. Cant wait to see the next project
    Joe

    Nicole
    Jan 1st 2019
    Christmas gift

    My boyfriend is someone who loves new projects and challenges. He loved the kit and could not wait to start working on it. The kits a bit pricey, but his excitement, and experience making the knife along with the finished product of nice quality knife is well worth the price. Would recommend this kit for any person who loves hands on projects.

    Nicole
    Jan 1st 2019
    Christmas gift

    My boyfriend is someone who loves new projects and challenges. He loved the kit and could not wait to start working on it. The kits a bit pricey, but his excitement, and experience making the knife along with the finished product of nice quality knife is well worth the price. Would recommend this kit for any person who loves hands on projects.

    Steve
    Aug 14th 2018
    Cool birthday gift!

    My wife bought this knife kit for my birthday. I'm always making stuff (woodturning, pens, jewelry, etc), so she knew I would like a project.
    It turned out very nice. Of course, being a woodworker I had to make my own custom scales from purple heart wood.
    I would suggest you include a couple extra screws in each kit, just in case any are lost. They are quite small. I didn't have that issue, but I can imagine it being a heartbreaking experience!
    Overall, this is a great idea for men who are hard to buy for.

    Anon
    Jun 19th 2018
    This gift was very well received

    Wow, sent this to dad for Father's Day, and he absolutely loved it, even more than I expected . Yes it's pricey for one knife, but it also includes the tools, and sometimes you're paying for the experience as much as the tangible items... My dad enjoyed it so much--and for everything he has done for me and my family, the cost of this gift was well worth it. It was the least I could do.

    Sherry
    Jun 18th 2018
    Great Gift

    My boyfriend is incredibly hard to shop for, if he wants something he just buys it.... so that makes it very hard to get him something he wants that he doesn’t already have. He absolutely loved it and loved the quality of everything!

    Dave Ditzel
    Mar 23rd 2018
    Great knife worth every penny

    I received this knife as a Christmas present. I waited a few weeks before I had time to work on shaping the handle. The liner, screws, pivot guides, blade stop stud, and blade were easy to put together. So easy it took maybe 5-10 minutes. I did not use the supplied handle material, instead I used some left over quilted maple scraps from a wood working project. After getting the handles cut to the proper size I spent a couple of hours turning the wood to fit my hand comfortably. I am blown away by the quality of the knife blade. I have a Zero Tolerance with and Elmax Stainless Steel blade. This blade gets just as sharp and stays just as sharp for longer. I would recommend this knife to anyone looking to get a great pocket knife. Only con against this knife is that the thumb stud tends to loosen with repeated use. Might have been a better decision to include the ability to press fit the thumb studs or include blue lock tight.

    Bob
    Feb 19th 2018
    Sweet kit

    I received the kit from my children for my 50th Birthday wasn’t aware that man crates even existed until I received this gift. I loved it this kit was really enjoyable took me a better part of a Sunday to get it finished and I love the knife it feels nice in my hand and operates beautifully great kit!!!!

    Don
    Jan 16th 2018
    Great knife project

    Went together just right, I filled in the top with a small piece of hard wood its held in place with the cross posts and screws

    glenn collins
    Jan 3rd 2018
    Handle and hard to fold

    I would have liked less handle as it seemed to have much more material than necessary. Also it appears to close the knife you have to remove more handle to be able to push the metal to the side to allow closing. Wondering why you didn't use the bottom close method which most knife makers are now using.

    Matt P.
    Jan 3rd 2018
    Nice knife!

    I got this kit from my mom for christmas. It goes together easy, and I love Micarta. My only wish is that the handle scales were thicker and cut closer to shape. It would bring out the layers more and get more bulge on the sides to fit my hands better. All in all a great kit for a beginner though!

    Alex
    Dec 26th 2017
    Awesome gift but..

    This is awesome and my father in law and husband both love it (bought 2) but for the price, I expected it to come in the box that they would have to break into with the crowbar. I know it’s my fault I didn’t read the fine print but come on guys! I paid over $100 for this baby! I wanna see someone have to work to get into it!

    Enid
    Sep 28th 2017
    He loved it!

    I bought this for my husband because he loves knives & he was shocked when he received it. Truly unique gift. I opted for over night shipping & I did receive it when they said I would. Awesome gift, awesome customer service. Will shop here again.

    Gabrielle Kotke
    May 5th 2017
    How 'bout personalizing the handles?

    I've just ordered one, but it would be AWESOME to have the handles personalized so when he opens the box, your customization is already there. It's be horrible to have him build this great knife and then take it away from him (so you can personalize it) . . . Especially, since a great personalization is the whole message when he opens the box.

    Herb R
    Apr 4th 2017
    Nice knife - great gift!

    This kit is really nice and good quality. It was a birthday gift from my wife. I enjoyed making the knife and look forward to using it. One recommendation - would like to see options for the outside colors. The black is nice but other colors would also be nice - perhaps in a refill package so I could make more knives! Highly recommend this kit for knife enthusiasts.

    Staci
    Mar 31st 2017
    Best Gift Hands Down

    I got this for my hard to shop for husband for Christmas, and it was by far the best gift. He was actually excited when he saw what it was and couldn't wait to get started! It didn't take an absurd amount of time, but kept him busy a couple afternoons. He was definitely proud and impressed with the finished product. All the other guys in the family have been requesting their own kits for birthdays and holidays!

Back to Top