All reviews for Lure Making Kit

Back to Lure Making Kit
Sort by:
    Apr 9th 2022
    Fantastic for the price

    I would venture to say at least 40 lures could be made from this kit! Fantastic for teens and adults alike! HIGHLY recommend!

    Dec 13th 2019
    Lure making kit

    It's nice, but you guys have to work on your packaging for the things inside, especially for the dyes and glue. I also expected the package to be stronger. Cute idea, but a bit pricey.

    Oct 18th 2019
    Customer service

    I'm shocked about some of the customer service reviews I've had nothing but a great experience with all of my orders. I've received timely follow-ups to any email inquiries.

    From Canada
    Oct 5th 2019
    Nice activity for a couple going fishing

    Got this for my boyfriend for a three day weekend trip we were going on. It was the first time we went fishing together and it was a nice activity for us to do before we got there.

    Katelyn G N
    Jun 23rd 2018
    Great Gift for Seasoned Bass Fishermen

    My Dad has been bass fishing since he was small. When I was growing up, I remember him taking my nail polishes and modifying his current lures. He would spend hours adding paint or sparkle to his baits to make them more appealing to the fish.

    What do you get for the man who already has all the bass fishing gear, brought you up playing “Bass Fishing Barbie”, and who still asks me “What color is this lure?” because he’s color blind? This was a GREAT gift- the bottles of paint are even labeled so I am out of a job. He was ecstatic when he called me on the phone.

    Nov 24th 2020
    Missing part of the al"lure"

    Everything arrived safely, although I'm a little disappointed that it didn't come in an actual crate. I really thought he'd have a fun time opening the crate. But I should have reviewed how it would be packaged. Still I think you should put this in a crate going forward.

    Andy Throckmorton
    Jan 5th 2019
    A great gift

    I received this kit for Christmas 2018, and am very happy with it. It's not a substitute for store bought lures, as it is a little labor intensive; but it's fun and satisfying to make them.

    I would recommend the following:
    1. Man Crates should add black to the coloring options
    2. On the larger crawdad, you must fill the hopper almost all the way, not just 3/4
    3. You MUST be sure to lube both sides of the molds; spray works better than liquid.
    4. I see no option on this site to order refills, although they are available elsewhere

    Rick Slagle
    Dec 26th 2019
    Stink crate

    Got this for Cristmas. My daughter had gift wrapped it and put it in a plastic trash bag. Once I picked it up I realized why. Opened it and it was obvious why. The stink bottle cap was barely on and about a third of the liquid had leaked out. The plastisol bottle cap was apparently a problem as well because it's cap had electrical tape wrapped around it. You should have put it in an ammo can, it would have arrived in the same state of disarray but at least the stink would have been contained.

    Rebekah Hunter
    Jun 22nd 2018
    Father's Day Gift

    I selected this item because my Dad loves fishing. I guess this was partly my fault for not reading everything but, I was extremely disappointed when it didn't come in the wooden crate. It came in a regular ole box! :-(

    Kylie V
    Dec 18th 2022
    Box leaked with liquid

    My boyfriend loved his gift if the liquid wasn't all over in the box. Not sure if it wasn't handled with care by the delivery person or not packaged well. He opened it to see red liquid and glitter all over everything in the box.

    Man Crates Response: Oh no!! If you haven't already, definitely reach out to our team of Customer Champions via with your order number and your concerns. The team is standing by and happy to make it right.

    Apr 11th 2020
    Damaged Package

    This was my first time ordering from this site. I Ordered this package for my husbands birthday and the items inside were leaking through the box. It made a huge mess and I only got about half of the products I paid for due to the leaking. Extremely disappointed.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there Megan, sorry to hear there was a leak in your lure making kit! We'd be happy to resend any items you're missing free of charge! Give us a buzz at 866-902-7260 and we'll make this right, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

    Dec 6th 2023
    Just leaks Fluid

    I tried this out a few times tonight, and each of the molds would not seal properly, and they leaked fluid. All I had was a big mess.

    Man Crates Response: Hi Patrick,

    We value your feedback. This is not the experience that we would like you to have. Please reach out to us at and we will do our best to make this right.

    Thank you and hope to hear from you soon!

    R. Tomas
    Dec 26th 2020

    I can NOT believe my GF spent money on this. This is the horrible over priced garbage I have ever witnessed. the measuring cup is great for the kitchen though!

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    Lynn J
    Dec 30th 2018
    Lure Making Kit - Poor quality and late delivery

    I wrote the following after a request to review their customer service after I informed them of a late delivery. I cared less about the late delivery than the product I finally received so I focused my comments about the product rather than the customer service. Mancrates never wrote me back.

    My comments are regarding the quality of your product. I could have ordered all of the separate elements of the lure making kit at a much lower price and then assembled those elements into my own gift package. I paid for your kit because I was purchasing the presentation. I wasn't expecting a wood crate as your site clearly stated that it does not come in one, however the cardboard box and the internal components of the packaging were deplorable. The cardboard that was supposed to have held the contents securely was much too thin. All of the bottles were rolling around in the bottom of the box. The fish smell spilled out and made the entire box gross. I was able to poorly fix the internal structure so that it held those items in place. In addition, the arrangement of the molds, measuring cup and plungers was just shoved on the side with no thought to the presentation. Finally, the outer shipping box was the ACTUAL box for the kit. There were cut marks covered in packing tape (post office maybe?) and I had to slowly and carefully peel the shipping label off to try and make a presentable looking kit box. It was NOT the presentation that I grossly overpaid for. If the package had arrived on the original promised delivery date, I may have had time to request another package. However, with the holiday approaching, I had to go with what I got. I will wait for your response before I post this review publicly. I don't like posting negative reviews because I know that we are all trying to do our best to provide for ourselves but this felt more like there was no desire to deliver a quality product.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there,

    Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your order! The issues with presentation are not something we're normally hearing, and I'm so sorry that it sounds like the packaging on your order was less than perfect. We'd be happy to replace any/all items that need to be resent so that they're not covered in the bait scent.

    That being said, we're happy to work with you to make this right or to offer you arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

Back to Top