close

All reviews for Expert Knife Kit - Stacked Leather Dagger

Back to Expert Knife Kit - Stacked Leather Dagger
Sort by:
    Scott Caron
    Jan 8th 2022
    Don't over-tighten the pommel

    I'd love to leave a great review, but I can't as my knife is now garbage. I over-tightened the pommel and snapped the threads off the tang. Treat it gently I guess is my suggestion.

    Jim Reilly
    Oct 27th 2021
    Fun, fun , fun

    Hi,
    I'm 83 I have all my fingers, poor eye sight, I'm having fun working on the grips. I plan to build 2 more 🗡 for my boys 62 and 59. I'm in the process of completing my workbench ,another few days I'll be rocken and rolling
    Not only is the dagger
    great looking it's a great knife and weapon
    Thanks
    Shamus

    JT
    Feb 26th 2021
    I’ll buy another one

    The first step was to put the guard on the tang but it didn’t even com close to fitting. Luckily I have a belt sander and took some metal off. After that it was a smooth breeze, goin to buy some beeswax today. I intend on purchasing more.

    S Legg
    Dec 29th 2020
    Very Awesome!

    Received as a Christmas present from my Wife and Daughters! I love the whole idea! Gives me a hobby and an awesome knife in the end! I find my self dawdling away and enjoying every minute of it. Thanks so much!!

    Shannon
    Jun 18th 2020
    Awesome product

    I bought this for my husband and he absolutely loves it. He wants another one even though he hasnt finished this one quit yet, lol. Thank you! Y'all are awesome. Will be ordering more in the near future. Hoping your able to get the pincone one in stock soon. I know he would love that one as well!

    Ramon Mejia
    May 31st 2020
    Thank you.

    I ordered this for my favorite guy,myself. I received my order in 2 days,as I was inspecting it I noted that there was a small default in the blade. I sent a text right away with a photo. I expected Man creates to send me a shipping label so I could return the blade.2 days later,Man crates sent me a whole new kit and told me to keep the other one for parts. I've never known a company with this kind of customer service and follow up on guarentee.or a company with such a great guarentee..thank u again

    Ramon Mejia
    May 31st 2020
    Thank you.

    I ordered this for my favorite guy,myself. I received my order in 2 days,as I was inspecting it I noted that there was a small default in the blade. I sent a text right away with a photo. I expected Man creates to send me a shipping label so I could return the blade.2 days later,Man crates sent me a whole new kit and told me to keep the other one for parts. I've never known a company with this kind of customer service and follow up on guarentee.or a company with such a great guarentee..thank u again

    David Hobbs
    Jan 1st 2022
    Mediocre

    Gave it three stars, but it's more like a 2-1/2 - just OK.
    I received it as a Christmas gift this year and immediately got to working on it.
    We're gonna start with the bad stuff.
    The screw that the pommel fits on was bent and the weld was a little off-center. I was able to straighten it out - so no big deal.
    The hole in the blade guard was cut too small to fit over the tang. A few minutes with some diamond files and a belt sander fixed this, but geez... This would've been a total deal breaker for someone who didn't own much for tools. I even screwed up sanding the tang down a little and have an 1/8" gap between the blade and the guard to deal with.
    Exxxxxpenisve for what you get. I know a bit about blade steel and AUS-8, although good, is pretty cheap these days. The fact that the blade isn't stamped, makes me wonder if it's really even AUS-8. With that said, the milling on the blade is pretty good and I was pleasantly surprised at how sharp it was, straight out of the box. Buttttt, the steel could've easily been stamped VG-10 and there still would've been a comfortable profit. The leather looks fairly cheap, but it serves the purpose.
    Odor - The kit smells like Harbor Freight and an army surplus store teamed up to make an industrial air freshener. When I smell this delightful aroma, I automatically think "cheap."
    This one's more of a me thing - After several hours of rasping, filing and sanding, that old man voice came out in me and said, "You own power tools, dummy!" Yeah, I broke down and used the Dremel and the belt sander on the handle. I could only take so much.
    Last gripe - the sheath design changed a little and the instructions didn't. Not a big deal for me, but could befuddle some.
    Bottom line - It's a good, productive time killer and the knife looks pretty cool, when finished (except for the annoying gap between the blade and the guard).
    The blade steel doesn't matter to me much, 'cause I don't really plan on actually using this knife. But, the price tag on the product for what you're actually getting is extremely steep. You can buy an assembled, name-brand knife with better steel for less money.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there, thank you for your feedback! Apologies that you were disappointed in the knife kit you received! We do our best to offer a great experience and value for the price and we're sorry to hear we missed that mark for you. We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a free product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'd be happy to work with you to make this right.

    -Team Man Crates

    Michelle
    May 30th 2020
    Could have been better

    Unfortunately it doesn't come with anything to shape the leather handle.
    Which kinda sucked cause my husband had to go buy stuff from the store to finish it.

Back to Top