close

All reviews for Personalized Smokin’ Old Fashioned Crate

Back to Personalized Smokin’ Old Fashioned Crate
Sort by:
    Vinnie
    Jun 3rd 2021
    Only a real man can open a Mancrate

    After fiddling with the included crowbar for exactly 3 minutes, I took the crate into my Woodshop and heated the glue with my heatgun, then used the prybar to easily open it. I then made myself a mean old fashioned because I earned it. This is a great crate (that rhymed, I’m a poet and didn’t even know it, and I did it again) and if your guy loves a good old fashioned, this is the perfect crate for him!

    Doug Yeargin
    Feb 14th 2021
    Valentines Day Surprise

    Opened this today on Valentine’s Day. The crate took some time to open. Definitely sealed well. This was awesome and led up to more excitement to see what was inside. So cool that my glasses had my initials on it. This is too cool. Love it!

    Dave Sautter
    Feb 14th 2021
    One of the Best Gifts

    Loved the packaging. Received as an Wedding Anniversary gift. I just love it, the thought of such a gift and the gift itself. Thanks so much to my lovely wife for this gift. Great glasses and bitters , tried simple syrup first, next one is with the gifted syrup.

    Cathy M.
    Feb 8th 2021
    Great Fun for Christmas

    My husband and I got this for our roommate who loves to make Old Fashioneds. I thought it would take much longer to open the crate-he used his own crow bar rather than the one that came with it. The personalization was great (personalized with his favorite saying) and the cocktails were delicious. Highly recommended.

    Sheila Francis
    Jun 21st 2020
    Great idea for Father’s Day

    My husbands favorite drink is an old fashioned, so this just stood out and I had to get it! He loved opening it and enjoyed everything all around. Will definitely recommend to others about the man crate! Perfect gift for the men in our lives. Shipping was fast. I had an issue with my first buyers coupon but it was cleared up pretty quickly. Thank you !

    Leigh Ann
    Feb 26th 2019
    Fantastic gift!

    Got this for my man for Valentine’s Day. He loves it! The smokiness of the maple syrup adds a whole new dimension to an old fashioned! He couldn’t wait to share with his friends either. It’s a great gift! The packaging is super fun, the glasses are quality, the ice cube tray is definitely a great addition! Thanks for starting off the holiday with a terrific cocktail!!

    Robbie D
    Aug 31st 2018
    I'm Hooked

    I got this as a Father's Day gift and wow did I think it was the most thoughtful gift I have gotten in a long time. I am a bourbon guy, normally I like it neat or with one large ice cube but I do enjoy a good old fashion too. I am not a big smokey flavor guy, I don't like scotch very much because of the heavy smokey peaty taste so I wasn't sure how I would like this because this maple syrup is incredibility smokey smelling. But when I made it and tried it, wow, it was awesome. I am seriously hooked on smokey old fashions now and others are now pretty boring. You don't need a good bourbon for one of these because the syrup will over power it but this is seriously a great drink.

    As far as the glasses, they are great, very heavy crystal and look great. The ice cubes are cool and easy to make but I actually prefer a bigger cube for my drink. I use these for other drinks where the glass can't fit the bigger cubes.

    The crate was a really cool thing to get so I definitely would recommend this if you are looking for a unique gift for a guy, or gal, who loves old fashions. Thanks again PTT I love this gift.

    AT
    Jun 9th 2018
    Delicious and nutritious

    I’m not an old fashioned expert (just a regular expert..) but I can definitely say this kit makes a great tasting drink!! My husband and our friends really enjoyed it. The ice mold is super cool (so punny) and the syrup has an amazing smell. The bitters really makes the taste smooth. Love the concept of the wooden box and crow bar. I would definitely recommend this box for someone that likes drinking old fashioneds or is into mixology, for sure makes a thoughtful gift.

    Aaron Rogers
    Jun 8th 2018
    Amazing

    I've given Man Crates to friends and family many times before but this was the first time I've received one and it was an amazing experience.

    Just opening the crate is a gift-worthy experience in itself. Cracking open a wooden crate with a steel crowbar is something you'll never forget. When I opened the crate, I was half expecting to find the crate filled with straw like the Major Award from A Christmas Story, but instead it was very well packaged using expanded foam perfectly cut to hold the fragile pieces in place during shipment.

    The first thing I noticed was the heft of the glasses. They have a very good feel to them and are clearly high quality. The etching in the glass is also a very nice touch reminiscent of old fashioned style glasses from the 50's and 60's with the starburst motif.

    The maple syrup came in a rather substantial bottle that will definitely last a long time. I was expecting a small, travel sized bottle, but this one was regular sized. When I opened it to smell it, I was very surprised as well. Instead of the normal, cloyingly sweet smell you normally get from maple syrup, it smelled more of Mesquite than of sugar which was intriguing. It also was less viscous than normal maple syrup having no problem being poured into the cups without making a mess.

    The bitters bottle was pretty much exactly what I expected except that the glass pipette was detached from the rubber top. It wasn't much of an issue getting the pipette out of the bottle and pushing it into the rubber top, but it was a bit of a needless pain. I realize of course that this is par for the course when it comes to these, but it'd be nice if I didn't have to go through the minor inconvenience.

    The ice cube tray is especially cool. As you can see from the pictures, the tray is filled through small holes in the top of the blue silicone piece which snaps into the grey plastic tray with some force. The tray was leak proof and easy to fill. When the ice was fully formed and I took the icosahedrons out of the mold, I was surprised at how clear they were. They were like little sculptures in my glass. My wife was so amazed that she said that this was going to be her go-to ice cube tray from now on.

    The crate came with everything I needed to make an Old Fashioned except the Whiskey (of course) and the sugar cubes which are traditionally used in Old Fashioned cocktails. The included recipe didn't call for sugar cubes but I had some anyway.

    The way I made my first Old Fashioned was that I took two small sugar cubes and put them in the glass. Then I dripped some bitters directly onto the sugar cubes (about 2 drops per cube). After that I put about a teaspoon of the smokey maple syrup into it and a dash of water. I crushed the sugar cubes with a spoon as I didn't have a pestle on hand and mixed it all together until all the ingredients were combined. Then I took one of the ice-cohedrons and put it into the glass and then poured about 2 ounces of Whiskey over the ice, stirring everything together. I then cut a slice of lemon peel and put it on top. It was one of the best cocktails I've ever had. The drink had a very nice smokey taste to it with subtle fruity hints from the lemon peel which helped even out the flavors. I don't drink much, but this was definitely something I could drink every night.

    The greatest gift of Man Crates isn't necessarily the things you get with it. I could've easily picked up all these items from stores within walking distance of where I live. Instead, what you get from it is the priceless gift of an amazing experience. Things come and go; experiences stay with you for the rest of your life and I'll never forget making my first Old Fashioned thanks to Man Crates or taking a steel crowbar in my hands and cracking open a wooden crate.

    R T
    Jun 8th 2018
    Best Old Fashion I’ve had

    Received this today and had to try it out. The smoked maple syrup gives the drink a great smoked flavor. It was the best old fashion I’ve ever drank.

    Kelly Willis
    Jun 7th 2018
    Outstanding!!

    I’m jealous! This crate was for my husband, but oh my goodness, can I just say we both are loving it!?!! The smokey flavor of the maple syrup is amazing! My husband loves Old Fashions so this was perfect for him. But now they may be my new favorite as well! The bitters are amazing too! It’s always been hard for me to find bitters that make a drink good but wow! These are great!! The glasses are made in Germany and much nicer than I expected. The crate is great and makes the gift fun and unique! I highly recommend!!

    Andrea Gray
    Feb 15th 2021
    No Recipe/Overpriced

    I would at least think it’d come with a recipe for use of the ingredients because it doesn’t come with the alcohol. Also, the card was ripped. Overall, nice but overpriced. I could’ve put it together without the crate for $30 bucks.

    Savannah English
    Sep 17th 2018
    Crate was delivered but not in tact

    I have ordered multiple man crates as gifts over the years and never had a problem until now. I had originally been looking at another crate as a gift, but many reviews on the grilling crate stated that box arrived with the bottom unattached. So I opted for the Old Fashioned crate thinking maybe the contents of the grilling crate were just too heavy causing the bottom to come apart. Well, unfortunately, when the old fashioned crate was delivered to my brother for his birthday, he opened the cardboard packaging to find the crate’s bottom had come apart. The contents were in tact and unbroken, but I think we can all agree that the primary purpose of the man crate is the fun of watching the recipient open the crate. So this was a big disappointment. My brother loved the contents and really like how stout the glasses were, but again, the “fun and excitement” of the gift was ruined. Man Crates must be using a cheaper glue to seal the crates together since I’ve been seeing so many reviews as of late with similar situations where the crates are delivered not in tact. I hope they investigate as to what is causing this issue because this is a really ingenious gift offering for men who are hard to shop for and the quality of the contents are very good. But if that funny and climatic experience of opening the crate isn’t there, then honestly, it’s not worth the money.

Back to Top